Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Is this allowed on a VPS ? Please help

Hello,

I was wondering if scanning for USA socks 4/5 from a VPS is allowed or is it illegal ?

If its allowed, do you know any providers that don't have anything against this practice ?

Or should I look for a dedicated server instead of a VPS ?

I am not that tech savvy and I appreciate your help, thank you.
      0 Not allowed!

This is port scanning and is usually against many hosts terms of service. It doesn't matter if you use a VPS or Dedicated Server, check their terms.
      0 Not allowed!

Thank you for your reply.

Do you know of any provider which allows port scanning ? On either one, vps or dedicated ?

Any other opinions ?
      0 Not allowed!

Quote Originally Posted by BiggestPin View Post
    Hello,

I was wondering if scanning for USA socks 4/5 from a VPS is allowed or is it illegal ?

If its allowed, do you know any providers that don't have anything against this practice ?

Or should I look for a dedicated server instead of a VPS ?

I am not that tech savvy and I appreciate your help, thank you.
    Dedicated server or a VPS you will have the same issue. Providers do not want this on their network.

- Daniel
      0 Not allowed!

Thank you guys for the replies. I am not sure if this is illegal or not.
    Anyway, I assume most of the domestic USA providers don't allow this if its against the law in some states.
    Do you know of any other offshore reliable providers which may allow port scanning ?
    Thank you again
      0 Not allowed!

It is kind of bizarre to visit a forum where many participants expend significant effort defending against port scanning (and its associated hacking) and asking for advice on finding a host that allows it to be done.
      0 Not allowed!

Most likely this is not ok, but feel free to try the Find a Host option here on WHT and see if any hosts can help with it

Best of luck