Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    52

    Power in Datacenters

    Hello,

    We currently have 1 Rack in LA and wanted to make some changes to power.

    We are looking in upgrading our power from 1 x 120V A+B to 1 x 208V A+B single phase and keeping 1 x 120V A up for console server access.

    The Datacenter wanted to increase our Base Rent for the Rack almost double per month and charge for the power in addition.

    Is this normal?

    Thanks

    Daniel

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    402
    If they have space issues or are near capacity, then it's absolutely normal. Between those three circuits, you'll be getting about twice as much power as you currently have. If they have limited space or power density, that means they can't sell that much floor space to someone else.
    iCall Carrier Services - Carrier-grade VoIP services from a licensed CLEC - http://carriers.icall.com
    Domestic termination and origination, toll-free origination, A-Z International termination, dedicated servers, and colocation in our wholly-owned datacenter
    Real-time ordering via our control panel or XML-based API with over 20,000 numbers in stock

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    6
    120V is about 1.92 usable kW (at 20 Amps). If you added another 208V line, you're getting an additional 3.32kW (assuming both are 20Amp Drops). So 5.24 total usable power more than doubles your existing capacity. This would most likely be a significant increase in monthly recurring costs (especially in CA).

    Are you sure you need that much power?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    67
    Yes, the increase is pretty much inline with what other providers are offering in LA. Power and cooling are a huge component of colocation costs, you cannot expect more power with additional charges.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,611
    you want to triple your power from your current allocation... that means high density in just a single rack, you will pay a premium for that.

    EasyDCIM.com - DataCenter Infrastructure Management - Reach Me: wht@fevvo.com
    Bandwidth Billing | Inventory & Asset Management | Server Control
    Order Forms | Reboots | IPMI Control | IP Management | Reverse&Forward DNS | Rack Management

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    2,129
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyT View Post
    The Datacenter wanted to increase our Base Rent for the Rack almost double per month and charge for the power in addition.
    Yes it is normal. A rack rental cost (in fact, floor space rental cost, per sqft) is a direct factor of the amount of power used on it. Datacenters are designed for a certain maximum amount of Watts per square foot (due to HVAC cooling and generator capacity). If you start using more watts, you need to pay for more square feet; or in a single-rack scenario, more per rack (the base rack rental rate).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,790
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    you want to triple your power from your current allocation... that means high density in just a single rack, you will pay a premium for that.
    I agree to expect the price increase (power + cooling are easily the biggest price component in colocation), but 5.2kw usable per cabinet isn't really "high density."
    Karl Zimmerman - Steadfast: Managed Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
    karl @ steadfast.net - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
    Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New Jersey Colocation
    Now Open in New Jersey! - Contact us for New Jersey colocation or dedicated servers

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,611
    more than 40A 120v equivalent per rack in most facilities will be considered high density... sure there are higher densities capable, but above 40a 120v equivalent is when you start being considered a higher density load.

    EasyDCIM.com - DataCenter Infrastructure Management - Reach Me: wht@fevvo.com
    Bandwidth Billing | Inventory & Asset Management | Server Control
    Order Forms | Reboots | IPMI Control | IP Management | Reverse&Forward DNS | Rack Management

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,790
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    more than 40A 120v equivalent per rack in most facilities will be considered high density... sure there are higher densities capable, but above 40a 120v equivalent is when you start being considered a higher density load.
    Our most common power config is 30A 208v (5kw) and I wouldn't really call that high density myself. I guess it is just different with different facilities, but these days I'd say ~7.5kw+ is high density.
    Karl Zimmerman - Steadfast: Managed Dedicated Servers and Premium Colocation
    karl @ steadfast.net - Sales/Support: 312-602-2689
    Cloud Hosting, Managed Dedicated Servers, Chicago Colocation, and New Jersey Colocation
    Now Open in New Jersey! - Contact us for New Jersey colocation or dedicated servers

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Vaduz/LI
    Posts
    2,502
    more than 40A 120v equivalent per rack in most facilities will be considered high density...
    That is around 20A 240V...not much.
    Most european colos do 2x16-20A 230V which is almost 80A 120v...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    669
    Quote Originally Posted by Zhang View Post
    That is around 20A 240V...not much.
    Most european colos do 2x16-20A 230V which is almost 80A 120v...
    Can't European Colos can just open the doors to cool the place, especially at the moment. Saves 1/2 the power. Not as easy in LA.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by david_halliday View Post
    Can't European Colos can just open the doors to cool the place, especially at the moment. Saves 1/2 the power. Not as easy in LA.
    Fresh air cooling is actually getting common in normal dc's over the evening periods etc.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    294
    The Datacenter wanted to increase our Base Rent for the Rack almost double per month and charge for the power in addition.

    Is this normal?
    It is just normal, additional charges especially on that matter is just normal!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    251
    Quote Originally Posted by david_halliday View Post
    Can't European Colos can just open the doors to cool the place, especially at the moment. Saves 1/2 the power. Not as easy in LA.
    In Europe 2x 16 or 20A 230V its normal thing...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    167
    You could always change over to the 1 x 208V A+B and then use a Transformer to step down the 208V to 120V. This would save you the monthly cost of keeping the 1 x 120V A just for console server access or what ever else still needs 120V only.

    The APC9626 comes to mind... It costs around $500 and it's good for up to 500VA. Most likely more watts then you'll need but if you look around there are always smaller units to be found.
    http://www.apc.com/resource/include/...ase_sku=AP9626
    Specialty Server Provider
    151 Front St. West,
    Toronto, Canada

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-27-2009, 10:17 PM
  2. What is the standard power plug in datacenters? Any adapters? Pics
    By hostbox in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 11:51 PM
  3. Datacenters and Power Testing Plans
    By AKavanaugh in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 06-05-2003, 10:17 PM
  4. DATACENTERS - power questions...
    By Kazdek in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-22-2003, 11:40 PM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •