Thumbs up BurstNET budget Linux VPS services: 9-month review

It's been 9 months since I outgrew shared hosting and required a VPS for my websites. I have plenty of experience as a Linux sysadmin and MySQL DBA, making an unmanaged VPS the best choice for me. After doing my research, I decided to go with BurstNET's budget Linux VPS services.

I started out with 1 VPS -- their basic package with 512 MB RAM / 1 GHz CPU / 20 GB storage / 1000 GB bandwidth. Soon after, I purchased 2 more of the same, and upgraded 1 to the next available package (1 GB RAM / 1.5 GHz CPU / 50 GB storage / 1000 GB bandwidth).

So in total, I have 1 VPS with 1 GB RAM as my primary web and mail server, 1 VPS with 512 MB RAM as my database and DNS server, and 1 VPS with 512 MB RAM as a development/testing server. All 3 are located in BurstNET's Scranton datacenter.

Things overall have been excellent, with great performance and stability. Support tickets have all been addressed quickly and thoroughly. There have been a couple of "bumps in the road" over the past 9 months, but only minor issues, all resolved quickly enough to make them barely worth mentioning.

I would not hesitate to recommend BurstNET's Linux VPS services to anyone, as long as they have the knowledge and experience to properly configure, secure, and maintain their own servers. Like any unmanaged VPS provider, BurstNET would not be a good choice for someone coming from (fully managed) shared hosting who has little to no sysadmin experience of their own.

Now, at first glance, you will find a large number of negative reviews of BurstNET, both here on WHT and elsewhere. This might make it seem that they are not a good choice for a VPS. Dig a little deeper however, and you will find that the vast majority of BurstNET complaints are unwarranted, coming from 3 major groups of people: