Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 49
  1. #1

    UK2 and VPS.NET down again?

    Anyone else lost connectivity to VPS.NET or UK2?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    59
    UK2.net is 100% down. I just got through to midphase as we have a server with them and was advised this is a network issue.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,299
    There appears to be a network issue in our London datacenter. The VPS.NET website is hosted off site at SoftLayer however the nameservers for it are hosted at our London datacenter, which took the site offline.

    I will attempt to update this thread as we bring everything back online.
    Last edited by IGobyTerry; 01-12-2012 at 09:30 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    USA / UK
    Posts
    4,553
    Indeed, UK2 / 100TB is down in London for me as well.

    Going on 25 minutes now.

    Issue appears to be BGP related as all their IP's have dropped from the global BGP routing tables.

  5. #5
    VPS.net is 100% down here. Hope they get things resolved quicky

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    59
    UK2 doesn't even seem to announce a route to me past BT (I am located in the UK and am using BT right now)

    1 2 ms 1 ms <1 ms 192.168.1.254
    2 2 ms 39 ms 35 ms 213.123.109.58
    3 39 ms 33 ms 173 ms 213.123.109.161
    4 41 ms 39 ms 41 ms 213.1.69.122
    5 42 ms 40 ms 39 ms 213.120.179.54
    6 42 ms 41 ms 39 ms 213.120.179.182
    7 * * * Request timed out.
    8 * * * Request timed out.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,299
    Quote Originally Posted by BuyYourHost View Post
    VPS.net is 100% down here. Hope they get things resolved quicky
    Just to clarify, every location other than London is online now, which is experiencing a network issue.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Global
    Posts
    1,628
    Both also down for me.
    Aren't VPS.net on a cloud?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,299
    Quote Originally Posted by Exerox View Post
    Both also down for me.
    Aren't VPS.net on a cloud?
    Nameservers are hosted at our London datacenter, which is why the site went down. We'll be changing that...

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by IGobyTerry View Post
    There appears to be a network issue in our London datacenter. The VPS.NET website is hosted off site at SoftLayer however the nameservers for it are hosted at our London datacenter, which took the site offline.

    I will attempt to update this thread as we bring everything back online.
    Hi,

    What is the problem exactly?

    Regards,
    Suhail.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,299
    Quote Originally Posted by suhailc View Post
    Hi,

    What is the problem exactly?

    Regards,
    Suhail.
    Just a network issue. We have our lead network engineers working on it now.

    No matter the issue we have software and hardware backups ready to be deployed if necessary, so I expect we'll have everyone back online very soon.

  12. #12
    Thanks for the update, any idea how long roughly other then shortly?

  13. #13
    We also have a dedicated server with UK2.

    Is there any timeline on when it might be done? Like are we talking minutes or wont be back on till tomorrow?

    thanks for all info you may be able to give us.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    59
    Midphase say they have no idea how long it will last for and just to be patient and that they are working as fast as they can....

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    824
    Quote Originally Posted by IGobyTerry View Post
    Nameservers are hosted at our London datacenter, which is why the site went down. We'll be changing that...
    Interesting...I thought I read somewhere that the vps.net nameservers were located in 9 locations and are anycasted?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by IGobyTerry View Post
    Just a network issue.


    I'll tell my users that. "Oh, nothing big you know. The entire datacenter went offline, nothing big."

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,299
    Quote Originally Posted by MyITGuy View Post
    Interesting...I thought I read somewhere that the vps.net nameservers were located in 9 locations and are anycasted?
    The nameservers for VPS.NET are hosted in London. We allow our clients to use our anycast setup. Case of giving our client's better than we give ourselves, I guess. But it will be fixed so this doesn't happen in the future.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    59
    This will make you laugh, call 0800 6122142 option 2 is for the latest system status which says "There are currently no issues to report"

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    59
    Hello,

    I am sorry for the trouble that this issue has been causing you. It seems that we are currently having problems in our UK datacenter. We do not have a lot of information and are still looking into the issue. We should have the problem sorted shortly.

    --
    Regards,

    Tanner S.
    Dedicated Server Engineer

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London, Arizona, Utah
    Posts
    654
    Hi guys,

    Sorry for jumping in this a bit late but we've all been working since around ~45 mins ago when we received alerts about the network problems, the network team are working on it right now. Sorry again and further updates to come.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    59
    Did you edit that post as it said 30 minutes??

    Seems to be back now anyway, but it is a serious downtime for a large datacenter, would be nice to know why!

  22. #22
    Just came back

    Thanks to the uk2 engineers we can all sleep now haha

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London, Arizona, Utah
    Posts
    654
    Quote Originally Posted by Oli-Myshoutcast View Post
    Did you edit that post as it said 30 minutes??

    Seems to be back now anyway, but it is a serious downtime for a large datacenter, would be nice to know why!
    Yes you lose site of time when things go down and you panic a bit (had to double check the clock).... everything should be back now. If not send in a ticket. I am getting a clearer picture now into the problems but it looked to be a routing protocol problem. Let us know if you have any problems still in a ticket!

    Bit of a further update: OSPF protocols on our core routers failed without warning or reason, we have rectified the immediate issues, and are investigating the root cause to prevent any further reoccurrences
    Last edited by Thomas; 01-12-2012 at 10:01 PM.

  24. #24
    good job uk2 staff

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    366
    I know that the site http://shamelesshosts.com/ is hosted on one of their servers so I checked it and it was up. I figured it would have to be something localized.

  26. #26
    Our server came back online at 1.47am then offline again at 2.02am (UK).

    Hopefully won't be long until it's fully fixed!

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    76
    yeah, down here too, bit long for a complete datacenter downtime.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,299
    An update from our network engineers:

    OSPF protocols on our core routers failed without warning or reason, we have rectified the immediate issues, and are investigating the root cause to prevent any further reoccurrence

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by IGobyTerry View Post
    An update from our network engineers:

    OSPF protocols on our core routers failed without warning or reason, we have rectified the immediate issues, and are investigating the root cause to prevent any further reoccurrence
    Thomas said that when it was up.. for a short while, why would you repeat it when everything is down again and the "preventing a reoccurrence" clearly failed?

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    76
    because now they are "preventing a re-reoccurrence"

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    yes they are down still

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    looks up now!

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    London, Arizona, Utah
    Posts
    654
    It is back now. More info below.

    Status page being updated from network engineers:

    http://status.uk2.net/?p=1575

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    104
    Down again?

  35. #35
    Quote Originally Posted by PeterVerrill View Post
    Down again?
    I guess so, I can't access my server.

  36. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    366
    cloudkeeper.net and control.vps.net are both down as well for me currently.
    Odd thing is that the main site www.vps.net is up

  37. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by cutabovehost View Post
    Odd thing is that the main site www.vps.net is up
    Down here.

    We receive a total of 4 BGP feeds which went down a little while after each outage started though lots of routes inaccessible until everything stabilised.

  38. #38
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    yeah down again!

  39. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    /
    Posts
    629
    down again.

  40. #40
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,299
    Quote Originally Posted by SoCheapHost View Post
    down again.
    Team is putting the finishing touches on the fixes to restore service. Running into a few difficulties, but should have something more substantial in the next couple of minutes.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. UK2.net down?
    By BELLonline in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-25-2009, 09:18 AM
  2. VI.net (Virtual Internet) acquired by UK2.net
    By eming in forum Web Hosting Industry Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-08-2009, 01:10 PM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-06-2007, 11:16 AM
  4. UK2.net
    By nigelbeardsley in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-22-2006, 10:47 AM
  5. uk2.net
    By bss in forum Web Hosting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-26-2003, 08:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •