Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lab
    Posts
    113

    How can i setup a VOIP Server

    HI,
    I would like to learn more about VIOP Server . Kindly please setup a VIOP Server.
    How can i setup a VIOP Server?
    1) Which software i use to setup it
    2) What Server Configuration it need
    3) How can we setup VIOP Server to Landline or Phone line calling

    Best Regards,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    716
    i believe you're speaking about VOIP server and not VIOP server... you mentioned it 3 times...

    as for how to do it... check http://www.asterisk.org/
    SpiderVPS.com
    It's official: WE'RE CRAZY!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    65
    You will need a VPS/Dedicated server
    Asterisk + freePBX or Trixbox all in one
    you need a softphone to make free internal calls (extension to extention call , like 112 calls 131 using sip settings ) a popular free one http://www.counterpath.com/x-lite.html

    if you want to make out international calls you will need to buy VOIP call termination, it will get you a trunk to setup on Asterisk and start using the server for making calls from a softphone

    If you are planing to sell pc to phone calls , pin calls , callback etc..

    then you can install A2billing

    hope that helps a bit
    Dedicated VPS 1Giga uplink cPanel, Directadmin - Trixbox - OpenVPN & More

  4. #4
    I suggest Asterisk + FreePBX too.

    Try FreePBX . org

    A distro .iso is also available for easy installation.

    Setting up a Voip server is easy but running a it has tons of hard nut to crack so good luck...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    864
    Quote Originally Posted by Sreeganesh View Post
    HI,
    I would like to learn more about VIOP Server . Kindly please setup a VIOP Server.
    How can i setup a VIOP Server?
    1) Which software i use to setup it
    What do you want to do with it? Reseller phone services? Host an IVR for a business line?
    Quote Originally Posted by Sreeganesh View Post
    3) How can we setup VIOP Server to Landline or Phone line calling
    To call landlines, you'll need a call termination provider or a physical phone line connected to the server.
    Othio Hosting - Private-Label cPanel Reseller Hosting
    True 24x7 Support | SSD Storage | cPanel+WHM | R1Soft Backups

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3,139
    Get a Linux Server, put Asterix on it.

    Or get a Windows Server and put 3cx on it.
    PingHosters - Expert community for hosters - NEW: Post Reviews

  7. #7
    Can anybody comment on voipswitch or ipsmarx? How is their solution?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lab
    Posts
    113
    Ya, I'm Sorry, I Mean VOIP..
    Quote Originally Posted by silasistefan View Post
    i believe you're speaking about VOIP server and not VIOP server... you mentioned it 3 times...

    as for how to do it... check http://www.asterisk.org/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lab
    Posts
    113
    Why this hard to run...Is it need any monitoring ? Could you please tell me What is running procedures / jobs..

    Quote Originally Posted by real_skinner View Post
    Setting up a Voip server is easy but running a it has tons of hard nut to crack so good luck...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,646
    Quote Originally Posted by Sreeganesh View Post
    Why this hard to run...Is it need any monitoring ?
    It's sorta like running a shared hosting service that is always under attack, and if/when you get compromised it has the potential to cost you thousands of dollars.

    See, for example: http://www.bottaboom.com/voip-fraud/

    If you want to setup a SIP PBX for playing around, that's one thing. Just choose one of the many pre-paid service providers as you get started so that until you figure out how to secure your system if you get hacked your biggest risk is your prepaid balance.

    If you're looking to sell VoIP service, you've already failed. With the way you're approaching this, you're bringing a knife to a grenade fight.
    Eric Spaeth
    Enterprise Network Engineer :: Hosting Hobbyist :: Master of Procrastination
    "The really cool thing about facts is they remain true regardless of who states them." -SpaethCo

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lab
    Posts
    113
    Thanks you... it is a Good information

    Quote Originally Posted by spaethco View Post
    It's sorta like running a shared hosting service that is always under attack, and if/when you get compromised it has the potential to cost you thousands of dollars.

    See, for example: http://www.bottaboom.com/voip-fraud/

    If you want to setup a SIP PBX for playing around, that's one thing. Just choose one of the many pre-paid service providers as you get started so that until you figure out how to secure your system if you get hacked your biggest risk is your prepaid balance.

    If you're looking to sell VoIP service, you've already failed. With the way you're approaching this, you're bringing a knife to a grenade fight.

  12. #12

    Red face

    Asterisk has full of mysteries I think

    One of the issues you will always come up with is the sound quality which has so many factors like client's latency, jitters, packet loss percentage, codec used and so on.

    If you really wanted to test voip I suggest you start with medsize VPS that might just handle 3 to 5 concurrent calls.

    Try linode, we used linode for testing purposes for almost 3 years now and far they give us best solution.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sreeganesh View Post
    Why this hard to run...Is it need any monitoring ? Could you please tell me What is running procedures / jobs..
    Thinking about running your own VoIP/PBX server for your small business?
    Voipmin - Your Friendly Asterisk and FreePBX Server Administrator

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by geoffc View Post
    Hostedvps.ca has voip servers, i got mine there,
    be careful also when you have any voip servers on a public network, make sure to change all passwords and make sure your extensions have strong passwords.
    Second to that...
    I was playing with some LEB VPS with basic passwords. After one month someone broke my password and spend 15$ of my credit.
    Well, I learn a lesson ...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Drazek View Post
    Second to that...
    I was playing with some LEB VPS with basic passwords. After one month someone broke my password and spend 15$ of my credit.
    Well, I learn a lesson ...
    Well, the guy who steal me learn a lesson too -> He left his IP with ADSL router open to internet with default admin/admin password... It was and he was few days off-line

  15. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. Voip Setup
    By zippyhosts in forum VOIP etc
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-06-2011, 03:51 AM
  2. What is VOIP ? How to setup its server ?
    By troboy in forum VOIP etc
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-24-2010, 03:32 AM
  3. VoIP setup
    By tulix in forum Employment / Job Offers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-23-2009, 04:51 AM
  4. how to setup voip conferencing server
    By thesmallguyshost in forum VOIP etc
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2008, 02:46 AM
  5. Setup VoIP
    By Jeremy in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-21-2005, 04:14 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •