hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : Colocation basic questions

Forum Jump

Colocation basic questions

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2003, 10:47 PM
Web Hosting Master

Colocation basic questions

Greetings!

I'm new to Colocation, that's why I have questions.

1) What are the basic steps to Colocate?
2) If I need to upgrade memory in my computer, do I have to request my box back, or I can send memory and techs will install it for me?
3) What do you think is the best Colocation provider? (NOT TOO EXPENSIVE)
4) How much does it cost, approximetly, to ship server in US?

Thank you

Sponsored Links
Old 02-05-2003, 11:43 PM
WHT Addict

Re: Colocation basic questions

Quote:
Originally posted by null
Greetings!

I'm new to Colocation, that's why I have questions.

1) What are the basic steps to Colocate?
2) If I need to upgrade memory in my computer, do I have to request my box back, or I can send memory and techs will install it for me?
3) What do you think is the best Colocation provider? (NOT TOO EXPENSIVE)
4) How much does it cost, approximetly, to ship server in US?

Thank you
I can't answer all of your questions but here are the basic jist of things.

1. The basic steps to colocate is to sign an agreement with a provider that would lay out the terms of the well agreement. If you just need to have one server colocated, then the agreement is not too complicated. Here are the basics of what might need to be in the contract.
a. How much power you can use
b. What form your server will be in - wether it will be in a tower box, or rackable 1u, 2u, 4u, etc.
c. extra fees - find out if the provider will charge you any extra fees for overusage of the bandwidth. A lot of places have a cheap start but then will charge you 5 dollars extra per gig...