hosted by liquidweb

Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : VPS Hosting : Best way to use SSD in KVM host?

Forum Jump

Best way to use SSD in KVM host?

Reply Post New Thread In VPS Hosting Subscription

Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old

Best way to use SSD in KVM host?

Hello,

I'm new to hosting, but have been a Unix/Linux admin since '98. This is a great forum.

I couldn't find this in search - does anyone know what the best use of an SSD drive in a KVM host would be? The spinning disks are RAID1 SATA. The server is Quad w/ HT and 8 GB ram, most of my guests run LAMP with Wordpres/Drupal type sites and a few other random things. I haven't used KVM much so I haven't seen where the biggest server bottleneck will be, and I would prefer not to disrupt any services once it's being used.

I was thinking either to give the guests an OS disk on the SSD or using it for swap. The Redhat document seemed to suggest using it for swap, but I thought I wanted to avoid any swapping of the host.

Can anyone share experience with this? Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old
Premium Member

First of all... Welcome

For what its worth:

It very much depends on the way the clients use there servers, sure avoiding swapping all together would be a dream but in reality almost impossible to avoid which is why the recommendations are to use it for swap.

If you mean for the HOST OS Swap then, sure you could use it for that but the cost would outweigh the benefit of just giving the Host OS enough RAM.