hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : RAm upgrading for X8DTL-I
Reply

Forum Jump

RAm upgrading for X8DTL-I

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2011, 08:16 PM
gate2vn gate2vn is offline
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanoi
Posts: 4,306

RAm upgrading for X8DTL-I


Currently, it has 12GB RAM (3x4GB DDR3-1066). I would like to upgrade this to 24GB. Which model should I use now?

Thanks.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-06-2011, 09:17 PM
cwl@apaqdigital cwl@apaqdigital is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,824
it's wise that you want to add 3pcs of identical 4G modules on the 3x open slots if the 2nd CPU is present already.

if you had only one CPU, the you would have no choice but to replace all 3x 4G's out with 3x 8G ECC registered DDR3-1333. Kingston's KVR1333D3Q8R9S/8G is under US$80 nowadays!

__________________
C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
http://www.apaqdigital.com
sales@apaqdigital.com


  #3  
Old 09-06-2011, 10:39 PM
gate2vn gate2vn is offline
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanoi
Posts: 4,306
This box has 2 CPU E5520 already. So which model do you recommend please?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-06-2011, 11:17 PM
cwl@apaqdigital cwl@apaqdigital is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,824
again, you want to use the identical RAM to the 3 modules you already have in there. thus, find out what exact brand/model you have, then buy the same thing.

if you can't source the identical brand/model for some reasons, at least you need to match the same type. non-ECC to match non-ECC, ECC UDIMM to match ECC UDIMM, ECC reg to match ECC reg. I do know it for a fact that you can't mix non-ECC or ECC UDIMM with ECC RDIMM on one server board.

__________________
C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
http://www.apaqdigital.com
sales@apaqdigital.com


  #5  
Old 09-07-2011, 12:08 AM
Keiro Keiro is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 274
Wouldn't it be easier to just buy RAM for the entire thing all at once and either use the "old" RAM for another server or sell it off to make some money back?

At least, that's how I'd do it, if given the circumstances.

__________________
EidolonHost is currently in the process of restructuring its services.

  #6  
Old 09-07-2011, 02:32 PM
gate2vn gate2vn is offline
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanoi
Posts: 4,306
The old RAM model is out of stock. It might be much more expensive than 1333 model today. Can we just buy DDR3-1333 and mix with current DDR3-1066 modules? Just need REG ECC (same with the old RAM)?

  #7  
Old 09-07-2011, 03:18 PM
ICC-USA ICC-USA is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 310
Just use old RAM with another server and get the new one for this box.

__________________
Colin C.

International Computer Concepts

  #8  
Old 09-08-2011, 01:44 PM
Frazier Frazier is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwl@apaqdigital View Post
it's wise that you want to add 3pcs of identical 4G modules on the 3x open slots if the 2nd CPU is present already.

if you had only one CPU, the you would have no choice but to replace all 3x 4G's out with 3x 8G ECC registered DDR3-1333. Kingston's KVR1333D3Q8R9S/8G is under US$80 nowadays!
Exactly what he said, Kingston's KVR1333D3Q8R9S/8G is your best bet and it is CHEAP right now, well all memory is cheap right now for the most part.

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from 4 GB to 6 GB RAM Harzem Dedicated Server 15 02-02-2008 12:40 PM
ram and HD, which one is worth upgrading? Nam Dedicated Server 9 10-02-2007 04:52 PM
Upgrading ram? Kit Computers and Peripherals 5 08-27-2006 03:15 AM
When upgrading a server's ram losaahead Dedicated Server 2 09-20-2005 05:56 PM
Upgrading RAM node9 Hosting Security and Technology 4 07-09-2001 12:21 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
WHMCS Encourages Users to Upgrade as Part of Important Security Update Web Hosting News 2014-08-27 12:05:55
Cloud Host Linode Brings Open Source Guides and Tutorials to GitHub Web Hosting News 2014-07-30 09:36:29
Pace Work Technologies Launches Upgraded Web Hosting Services Web Hosting News 2013-07-03 15:41:09
Ruby on Rails Vulnerabilities Discovered, Users Urged to Update Immediately Web Hosting News 2013-01-10 11:05:11
cPanel Releases cPanel, WHM 11.34 with New User Interface Web Hosting News 2012-10-16 13:09:49


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?