Unfortunate UltraHosting Event

Greetings!

First, I'd like to say that I've had no bad experiences with UltraHosting on technical grounds. I've been with them for a few years with a VPS, and they've been pretty available (a few downtime incidents), and have hit the reset button on request.

But the last couple of days have sent me elsewhere.

On Aug 17, I got an email saying that they couldn't bill my credit card. Would I update it?

Sure! On the 18th, I went to their site and updated my credit card info (BofA has been *way* paranoid about fraud, and in this last month I've had *4* credit card numbers, even though *my* card has never been involved in fraud!). I also sent an email to Deirdre ("The Billing Department").

On Aug 19, they shut off my server. I sent email, and I left a message on "The Billing Department's" voice mail. I heard nothing.

On the 20th (Saturday), I left a ticket for Billing, but heard nothing, so after a few hours I called for Technical Support.

I talked to "Eric" who came on the phone with a "customers suck" attitude. No, the Billing Department is not available on weekends, No, there was nothing that he could do. No, two days of non-payment was all the proof that he needed that my server should remain disconnected. No, there was nothing that I could do until Monday.

So, as far as UltraHosting is concerned, I'm offline for 72 hours.

I will not do business with a company that has such a low opinion of the people that it does business with.

Why do they give us just two days from:
    "When trying to process a payment for your UltraHosting order, your credit card was declined."
    to disconnecting the server?

Why do they change the demands in the middle of this foreshortened time, from:
    "Please update your credit card" on the 17th, which I did, to:
    "We have been unable to contact you to receive payment", which I didn't until the next day, because they didn't ask me to!