
08-09-2011, 09:56 AM
|
|
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
|
|
Website mail rejected from some isps
We have an issue with a dedicated site we are hosting where email from the website maybe rejected from specific ISPs. Typically this is a RDNS issue since the website sends mail directly from the website server itself. The company has an exchange server in their office for their own email. this server is where they receive and send regular email on the same domain as the website. I guess my question is how should the configuration look to get the RDNS issue resolved? We have tried to use the exchange server as a relay, but its providing more problems it seems and besides if the exchange server goes offline the website cannot send mail. Has anyone done this before?
|

08-09-2011, 12:56 PM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 40
|
|
Are you sure it's an RDNS issue? We had the same problem and found out that our IP was blacklisted (before we ever received it).
|

08-09-2011, 12:59 PM
|
|
Performance Specialist
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,338
|
|
Do you have rdns configured for both the web server and exchange server?
As SimplyJay mentioned you should also check whether the IPs are blacklisted. If they are, you might want to use a service like SendGrid or CritSend to relay your mail:
http://www.sendgrid.com/
http://www.critsend.com/
__________________
MediaLayer, LLC - Lightning fast web hosting since 2005. Ask about our new pure SSD storage platform!
›› First and leading provider of LiteSpeed based hosting combined with enterprise grade hardware.
›› Free Account Migrations, Custom Solutions, and Servers in US, EU, and Asia
›› Our Application Hosting plans outperform the typical VPS. Ask us about special offers on yearly plans!
|

08-09-2011, 02:37 PM
|
|
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
|
|
I do not believe its a black-list issue, its an issue where the website claims to be bagsunlimited.com but the MX for bagsunlimited.com's IP address is not the IP address of the website so they toss the mail out. The actual webserver does have RDNS setup.
|

08-09-2011, 02:48 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 616
|
|
Hence, create an appropriate spf record. Still, I'd prefer to use a relay.
|

08-09-2011, 03:01 PM
|
|
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
|
|
I have tried this also, and this is the one im using now, its probably wrong, since i dont have a good understanding of these yet:
"v=spf1 include:mail.customerdomain.com ip4:0.0.0.0 ~all"
0.0.0.0 is the ip of the web host server that makes the connections when its sending..
|

08-09-2011, 03:11 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 616
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkeymel
its probably wrong
|
That's easy to test. Check the headers on the receiving end or use a tool like this.
To get help with the syntax, check this.
|

08-10-2011, 02:38 PM
|
|
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
|
|
Thanks for all your help, i have this working now, at least according to the tests, and hopefully, the email returns will stop!
|

08-10-2011, 02:47 PM
|
|
Cultivated in California
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,409
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkeymel
I have tried this also, and this is the one im using now, its probably wrong, since i dont have a good understanding of these yet:
"v=spf1 include:mail.customerdomain.com ip4:0.0.0.0 ~all"
0.0.0.0 is the ip of the web host server that makes the connections when its sending..
|
Do "-" instead of "~". "~" is a soft-fail/neutral while "-" is a hardfail.
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|