hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : Cisco smartnet on used gear
Reply

Forum Jump

Cisco smartnet on used gear

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 709

Cisco smartnet on used gear


Can someone tell me what the deal is with smartnet and grey market gear? We'd like to go ebay route and then get a smartnet contract on it.

Isn't there some issue with smartnet where as a new owner they make you pay basically the full price of the unit new saying you're buying the ios license? Is there a recertification process? What gotcha's are invovled?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 428
Technically it is not allowed by Cisco without recertification of the gear. The deal with grey market gear is you are not legally licensed to run the IOS on it as its not transferrable. Recertification is a rather expensive process where you pay cisco alot of money for a 3rd party to come on site power on the equipment say yea its good and leave. Recert costs vary and are based upon the total list price of whats being recertified along with the purchase of whatever IOS license you need.

That said if you were to come to a partner and buy smartnet they couldnt really tell if its grey market or not without alot of effort unless the serial number comes up covered. Partners cannot demand proof of purchase and as long as you were not to say "hey i want to cover my grey market ebay gear" I don't know how they would know.

This is Cisco's official policy and take on grey market gear and smartnet.

http://www.edge1.net/images/prod_warranty0900aecd801c35a3.pdf

__________________
Edge 1, LLC
http://www.edge1.net | 800.392.2349
Cisco SMARTnet & Licensing Specialists | Datacenter/Network Design & Management Consulting | Cisco New & Certified Refurb Equipment Sales

  #3  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 709
So basically if you get grey market gear and want smartnet you had better either ask the seller if it has smartnet on it, pass if it does. Or submit the serial to a partner to check for smartnet.

Is there anyway and end user can take a serial and do a check to see if it's covered (or has ever been covered)?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 428
No way for a end user to see.

You would have to submit the serials for a quote from a partner. I'd advise doing this prior to purchase in case it comes up a a bundle as that will greatly impact pricing.

  #5  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by sct4a View Post
No way for a end user to see.

You would have to submit the serials for a quote from a partner. I'd advise doing this prior to purchase in case it comes up a a bundle as that will greatly impact pricing.
PM sent.

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
July Special on NIB Cisco ASA Firewalls w/ Cisco SmartNET Support sct4a Web Hosting Hardware 1 07-09-2011 01:13 PM
Cisco 6500 Smartnet Question enteracloud Colocation and Data Centers 2 05-15-2011 09:44 PM
Used Cisco Gear? KyleLC23 Colocation and Data Centers 16 06-06-2007 01:10 AM
Needing Cisco Gear ASAP!!!! GreenTelinc Other Offers & Requests 1 12-03-2003 12:30 PM
cisco gear dniznick Hosting Security and Technology 4 10-10-2002 01:02 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Thirty Companies Buy Into Cisco’s ACI-Dependent Cloud of Clouds Web Hosting News 2014-09-29 11:43:56
Cisco Partners with Dimension Data, Sungard AS, VCE, NetApp, and Others on Cloud Solutions Web Hosting News 2014-05-20 15:07:26
Cisco to Invest $1 Billion in Global Cloud Network to Accelerate the Internet Of Things Web Hosting News 2014-03-24 12:03:24
Cisco Addresses BYOD Challenges with New Desktop as a Service Solution, Collaborate Acquisition Web Hosting News 2013-12-17 15:43:29
Swiss IP Network Services Firm Multiven Accuses Cisco of Proprietary Data Cybertheft Web Hosting News 2013-03-13 14:37:33


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?