Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1

    Cisco smartnet on used gear

    Can someone tell me what the deal is with smartnet and grey market gear? We'd like to go ebay route and then get a smartnet contract on it.

    Isn't there some issue with smartnet where as a new owner they make you pay basically the full price of the unit new saying you're buying the ios license? Is there a recertification process? What gotcha's are invovled?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    428
    Technically it is not allowed by Cisco without recertification of the gear. The deal with grey market gear is you are not legally licensed to run the IOS on it as its not transferrable. Recertification is a rather expensive process where you pay cisco alot of money for a 3rd party to come on site power on the equipment say yea its good and leave. Recert costs vary and are based upon the total list price of whats being recertified along with the purchase of whatever IOS license you need.

    That said if you were to come to a partner and buy smartnet they couldnt really tell if its grey market or not without alot of effort unless the serial number comes up covered. Partners cannot demand proof of purchase and as long as you were not to say "hey i want to cover my grey market ebay gear" I don't know how they would know.

    This is Cisco's official policy and take on grey market gear and smartnet.

    http://www.edge1.net/images/prod_warranty0900aecd801c35a3.pdf
    Edge 1, LLC
    http://www.edge1.net | 800.392.2349
    Cisco SMARTnet & Licensing Specialists | Datacenter/Network Design & Management Consulting | Cisco New & Certified Refurb Equipment Sales

  3. #3
    So basically if you get grey market gear and want smartnet you had better either ask the seller if it has smartnet on it, pass if it does. Or submit the serial to a partner to check for smartnet.

    Is there anyway and end user can take a serial and do a check to see if it's covered (or has ever been covered)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    428
    No way for a end user to see.

    You would have to submit the serials for a quote from a partner. I'd advise doing this prior to purchase in case it comes up a a bundle as that will greatly impact pricing.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by sct4a View Post
    No way for a end user to see.

    You would have to submit the serials for a quote from a partner. I'd advise doing this prior to purchase in case it comes up a a bundle as that will greatly impact pricing.
    PM sent.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2011, 01:13 PM
  2. Cisco 6500 Smartnet Question
    By enteracloud in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-15-2011, 09:44 PM
  3. Used Cisco Gear?
    By KyleLC23 in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-06-2007, 01:10 AM
  4. Needing Cisco Gear ASAP!!!!
    By GreenTelinc in forum Other Offers & Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2003, 12:30 PM
  5. cisco gear
    By dniznick in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-10-2002, 01:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •