Is HostGator reseller acceptable?

Hello,

Everything is in the title... I would like to start my hosting company, should I start with a reseller package from HostGator or a Vps directly?

Start with a reseller account and slowly work your way up.

It'll allow you keep costs down, and you'll be on a secure server that's monitored. When you begin to outgrow the reseller account then make the move to a VPS Last thing you want is to be paying out $60+ for a VPS when your not making enough to cover the costs.
    Adam Hoban.
    ManobanWeb Group
    UK and US - Shared & Reseller Hosting Solutions

I've been using them for my smaller clients for over 8 years. Rock solid with great support and uptime.
    Circle Tree, LLC
    High Performance WordPress Hosting, Custom Design, Interactive Marketing
    View WHMCS addons here
    Orlando WordPress Hosting and Website Design

It really depends on what you plan to offer, if you are happy offering the current services HG is offering to their clients, then yes, go with a regular reseller account. However if you were looking to customize your web hosting service (installing your own software), then a VPS will be your best bet.

Personally, if I were you and if I were not comfortable managing my own server (which it sounds like to me, you are not). I would start off with a regular reseller plan. Either way, best of luck!
    Need Web Hosting? Click Here to Learn Why You Should Switch To FernGullyGraphics
    FernGullyGraphics --- 426 14th St. Suite #115 --- Modesto, California --- 95354

Need Business Cards? Click Here

Quote Originally Posted by lewis2005 View Post
    a reseller package from HostGator
    HG doesn't allow overselling which means you can create 10 accounts with 5GB disk space each on the starter plan.
    Good thing: quality should be guarantee because of limit on resource allocation.
    Bad thing: depends on your business model you may not be able to make much profit.