Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1

    Wonderful problem with UK2 DC IP Addresses

    Hello,

    It's wonderful we have some IP's from UK2 datacenter in UK but it showing us some times to UK location,some times to Iran location,some times to germany!
    check this please:
    http://whatismyipaddress.com/ip/46.23.65.68

    it's wonder why iran !! well germany is in europe but infact it's problem.
    anybody can help me?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,059
    Do a traceroute.
    Those sites often basically guess where the IP is.
    I did a traceroute and that IP is located in the UK.
    cPanel, CloudLinux, Softaculous ℵ Off Site Backups, Redundant DNS

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kerala, India
    Posts
    264
    I have checked it with some other sites like ip2location.com, iplocation.net, etc
    All showing UK location only.
    Subodh Manikoth [Netmagics.com - In Business Since 2007]
    Linux & Windows Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Master Reseller | Alpha Reseller | VPS
    99.9% Uptime SLA | 30 Days Money Back | 24x7 Live Support
    Payment Methods: PayPal/Credit Card, Indian ATM/Debit Cards/NetBanking, Bank Deposit

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,362
    Quote Originally Posted by deutschland View Post
    anybody can help me?
    Simply query the RIPE DB directly rather than some advertising site

    inetnum: 46.23.65.64 - 46.23.65.71
    netname: UK2-100TB-148-DEDI
    descr: UK2 Infrastructure
    country: GB
    Rob Golding Astutium Ltd - UK based ICANN Accredited Domain Registrar - proud to accept BitCoins
    Buying Web Hosts and Domain Registrars Today @ hostacquisitions.co.uk
    UK Web Hosting | UK VPS | UK Dedicated Servers | ADSL/FTTC | Backup/DR | Cloud
    UK Colocation | Reseller Accounts | IPv6 Transit | Secondary MX | DNS | WHMCS Modules

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    16,087
    Quote Originally Posted by deutschland View Post
    anybody can help me?
    What do you want help with, exactly?
    Michael Denney - MDDHosting LLC
    New shared plans for 2016! Check them out!
    Highly Available Shared, Premium, Reseller, and VPS
    http://www.mddhosting.com/

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by deutschland View Post
    anybody can help me?
    Perhaps that site is showing old/faulty geo-data? As your IP-address shows to be located in the UK in many other services (for example http://www.ip-adress.com/ip_tracer/46.23.65.68 and http://www.robtex.com/ip/46.23.65.68.html#whois ) you should have nothing to worry about.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,574
    It seems whatismyipaddress uses geo info provided by Maxmind -- which is not error free and is giving wrong location in this case. It may be a huge issue as Maxmind is used a lot to verify online orders as well their databases (free and paid) are used by many applications around the world. Orders from that IP processed using Maxmind could be flagged as fraud as the customer address will disagree with the IP location.

    From Maxmind site:



    How does GeoIP work?
    The idea behind GeoIP is simple but the process is complex. We employ user-entered location data from sites that ask web visitors to provide their geographic location. We then run millions of these datasets through a series of algorithms that identify, extract, and extrapolate location points for IP addresses.


    What can GeoIP be used for?
    To name a few applications, GeoIP can be used for delivering customized content, targeted ads, web log statistics, digital rights management, and regulatory compliance. In fact, you may already be using GeoIP without realizing it. MaxMind's GeoIP technology has been integrated by many of our partners for ad-serving, fraud screening, web analytics, firewall/spam protection, and anti-phishing/anti-identity theft applications.
    Last edited by dotHostel; 06-12-2011 at 09:01 AM.
    You will only find out how good a provider is when the going gets tough

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    10,482
    We've seen the same issue happen, generally I would not rely on 3rd party sources but then it is good to question it as sometimes people do get a little confused to what is happening, I believe it comes down to who it actually came from - the actual IP block to how it reflects what you are seeing even though it be inaccurate to begin with.

    We have a few services that show the IP in the UK though it is actually in the USA, a tracert confirms that
    l Dedigeeks (Twitter) Shared Reseller Cloud VPS Since 2010
    l Leading AU Hosting Provider Multiple locations - around the globe!
    l cPanel/WHM R1Soft Backups 24/7/365 Support 99.9% Uptime Guarantee
    l www.yourcompanynamehere.com Customer Service Rep. Superior Service Guarantee

  9. #9
    Hello,

    Please see it :
    http://postimage.org/image/1beuyx2bo/


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,059
    See where it says

    "Location not accurate?"
    Click "Update your location"

    Then you problem will be solved
    cPanel, CloudLinux, Softaculous ℵ Off Site Backups, Redundant DNS

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,362
    Quote Originally Posted by deutschland View Post
    Please see it :
    Try reading post #4 !
    Rob Golding Astutium Ltd - UK based ICANN Accredited Domain Registrar - proud to accept BitCoins
    Buying Web Hosts and Domain Registrars Today @ hostacquisitions.co.uk
    UK Web Hosting | UK VPS | UK Dedicated Servers | ADSL/FTTC | Backup/DR | Cloud
    UK Colocation | Reseller Accounts | IPv6 Transit | Secondary MX | DNS | WHMCS Modules

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 22
    Last Post: 05-03-2011, 04:14 PM
  2. UK2.net 2% PacketLoss problem
    By mavmike in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 07-13-2009, 04:33 AM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-06-2007, 11:16 AM
  4. UK2 - SAVE 25% on UK2 Web Hosting Package
    By Kasiab in forum Shared Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2007, 05:56 AM
  5. problem sending email to hotmail addresses [confused]
    By zahid in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 08-15-2006, 03:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •