Would an atom processor type server do me good?

I have a couple of personal sites with barely any traffic. And I have some friends who I host too.

At max i have maybe 20-25. In total, all of these websites might use around 5-10 gigs of bandwidth a month.

Would an atom based server fit my needs okay?

I've never used one before etc

Should do you well. Atoms are very underrated machines. What other specs does that server include? I would do at least 2 GB RAM
    Richard Perez | PureWeb
    Dedicated Servers - cPanel Web Hosting - cPanel Reseller Hosting
    6 Nationwide Locations. 100% Network SLA. Established in 2007. True 24/7/365 Support.
    Follow us on Twitter: @purewebtech. Network POPS in: LAX - CHI - DFW - NYC - SEA - ATL

A decent VPS system will outrun any Atom system at a lower price.
    ServerAstra.com website / e-mail: info @ serverastra.com
    HU/EU Co-Location / Managed and Unmanaged VDS & Dedicated servers in Hungary with unmetered connections

Why do you need a dedicated server in that case? Just get a reseller account from any of the good hosts and it would be more than enough.

I think what he wants is some control and to play around with things. Well atom is definitely okay for such small hosting purpose. There are plenty budget atom offers around.

Otherwise you might wanna consider Datashack.net. They have dual cores for the price of atom servers.

Also for ease of mind, like backing up the server, reformatting it to a new o/s to try out other things, i would recommend you to use VPS first until you are fully comfortable handling the server on your on.

I can only assume reason why you searching for server instead of a shared hosting or reseller hosting is because you want control and try out some other stuffs.

Datashack offers dual core server ranging from USD59/mth. Review here - http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1026542