hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : fatal error : controller monitor failed. controller not started
Reply

Forum Jump

fatal error : controller monitor failed. controller not started

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,203

fatal error : controller monitor failed. controller not started


Hi,

i buy a server with X9SCM-F/Adaptec 2405/4*WD RE4 5003ABYX,

1. after booting,no matter how do i type "del",it always go to the screen as my attachment shows

2. when i type ctrl+a,it also go to the screen.

after running minutes,it will stop there,can i ask what should i do for a new server with Adaptec 2405 ?


thanx
Attached Thumbnails
IMAG0039.jpg  


Last edited by ttgt; 06-06-2011 at 09:12 AM.


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,843
remove the adaptec and see whether you can get a normal boot. this could be caused by either a bad 2405 or bad riser card.

on X9 series SM board, to enter BIOS setup, you must hit F11, then select "setup" instead of the usual "del" key.

__________________
C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
http://www.apaqdigital.com
sales@apaqdigital.com


  #3  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,203
Hi,
1. i try to remote the riser card/raid card/no hd connect to board,and reboot,when i type "del",i can go into bios,when i type F11,it show show with my attachment.

2. i try to install the Adaptec 2405 with had are booting,it is under initialation now,as my 2nd picture.thanx
Attached Thumbnails
IMAG0040.jpg   IMAG0042.jpg  

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,203
Hi,

the initialization still fail as my picture 1,and i take the picture of my raid card,it glisten with red lamp,as my 2nd picture,is any way to check the health of the raid card ? thanx
Attached Thumbnails
IMAG0044.jpg   IMAG0045.jpg  

  #5  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttgt View Post
Hi,

the initialization still fail as my picture 1,and i take the picture of my raid card,it glisten with red lamp,as my 2nd picture,is any way to check the health of the raid card ? thanx
for diagnostic purpose, I would try the 2405 in a different PCI-E slot. if still no go, then most likely it's a bad 2405 card.

__________________
C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
http://www.apaqdigital.com
sales@apaqdigital.com


  #6  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,203
for normal,what messages or result will it show ? thanx

  #7  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttgt View Post
for normal,what messages or result will it show ? thanx
it will says initialization completed without displaying "error" message, and by hitting "Ctrl+A", you can actually enter RAID BIOS.

__________________
C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
http://www.apaqdigital.com
sales@apaqdigital.com


  #8  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hyderabad India
Posts: 1,103
does not apply' new machine , then just bad card or cables not connected properly


Last edited by Krazy; 06-06-2011 at 12:20 PM.
  #9  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,203
i think there is still some issue there,because still has error.thanx
Attached Thumbnails
IMAG0046.jpg   IMAG0047.jpg  

  #10  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,843
well, the only thing left to do is to try a different 2405 card.

__________________
C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
http://www.apaqdigital.com
sales@apaqdigital.com


  #11  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,203
Hi,

after replacing a new 2405 card,i can boot into raid controller well,but i have some questions:

1.before i create array,can i go into bios well ? because no matter how click F11,it always stop at the page as my attachment,and i use ctrl+alt+del,it still not reboot at all and stay at the page.

2.for general,if i want to create raid 10,go into 2405 control and "create array" is enough? or i need to do any other deep setting for the raid card to let it run well ?


thanx
Attached Thumbnails
IMAG0050.jpg  

  #12  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,203
Hi,does anyone have experience with it? Thanx

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAID Controller sly_cooper Hosting Software and Control Panels 4 01-28-2011 04:55 PM
RAID controller failed on IBM RS/6000 baemon Hosting Security and Technology 0 02-15-2007 08:52 AM
New GC controller death_entry Web Hosting Lounge 2 07-01-2004 12:43 AM
Hosting Controller rizwan65 Hosting Software and Control Panels 4 01-09-2003 10:46 AM
Smart hosting controller admin error A Web Host Hosting Security and Technology 4 08-03-2002 06:09 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Managed WordPress Web Host Pagely Suffers Temporary Downtime Web Hosting News 2014-10-30 15:47:35
Admin Error Brings Down Joyent’s Ashburn Data Center Web Hosting News 2014-05-28 10:18:18
Lengthy Outages for Hacker News, FastHosts Web Hosting News 2014-01-06 09:56:36
CA Technologies Launches Free Monitoring Tool Web Hosting News 2013-10-10 14:27:42
Cisco to Acquire Cloud Automation Software Cloupia for $125 Million Web Hosting News 2012-11-15 15:35:19


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?