Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,331

    fatal error : controller monitor failed. controller not started

    Hi,

    i buy a server with X9SCM-F/Adaptec 2405/4*WD RE4 5003ABYX,

    1. after booting,no matter how do i type "del",it always go to the screen as my attachment shows

    2. when i type ctrl+a,it also go to the screen.

    after running minutes,it will stop there,can i ask what should i do for a new server with Adaptec 2405 ?


    thanx
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMAG0039.jpg  
    Last edited by ttgt; 06-06-2011 at 09:12 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    remove the adaptec and see whether you can get a normal boot. this could be caused by either a bad 2405 or bad riser card.

    on X9 series SM board, to enter BIOS setup, you must hit F11, then select "setup" instead of the usual "del" key.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,331
    Hi,
    1. i try to remote the riser card/raid card/no hd connect to board,and reboot,when i type "del",i can go into bios,when i type F11,it show show with my attachment.

    2. i try to install the Adaptec 2405 with had are booting,it is under initialation now,as my 2nd picture.thanx
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMAG0040.jpg   IMAG0042.jpg  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,331
    Hi,

    the initialization still fail as my picture 1,and i take the picture of my raid card,it glisten with red lamp,as my 2nd picture,is any way to check the health of the raid card ? thanx
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMAG0044.jpg   IMAG0045.jpg  

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by ttgt View Post
    Hi,

    the initialization still fail as my picture 1,and i take the picture of my raid card,it glisten with red lamp,as my 2nd picture,is any way to check the health of the raid card ? thanx
    for diagnostic purpose, I would try the 2405 in a different PCI-E slot. if still no go, then most likely it's a bad 2405 card.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,331
    for normal,what messages or result will it show ? thanx

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    Quote Originally Posted by ttgt View Post
    for normal,what messages or result will it show ? thanx
    it will says initialization completed without displaying "error" message, and by hitting "Ctrl+A", you can actually enter RAID BIOS.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hyderabad India
    Posts
    1,103
    does not apply' new machine , then just bad card or cables not connected properly
    Last edited by Krazy; 06-06-2011 at 12:20 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,331
    i think there is still some issue there,because still has error.thanx
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMAG0046.jpg   IMAG0047.jpg  

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    3,860
    well, the only thing left to do is to try a different 2405 card.
    C.W. LEE, Apaq Digital Systems
    http://www.apaqdigital.com
    sales@apaqdigital.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,331
    Hi,

    after replacing a new 2405 card,i can boot into raid controller well,but i have some questions:

    1.before i create array,can i go into bios well ? because no matter how click F11,it always stop at the page as my attachment,and i use ctrl+alt+del,it still not reboot at all and stay at the page.

    2.for general,if i want to create raid 10,go into 2405 control and "create array" is enough? or i need to do any other deep setting for the raid card to let it run well ?


    thanx
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMAG0050.jpg  

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    2,331
    Hi,does anyone have experience with it? Thanx

  13. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. RAID Controller
    By sly_cooper in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-28-2011, 04:55 PM
  2. RAID controller failed on IBM RS/6000
    By baemon in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-15-2007, 08:52 AM
  3. New GC controller
    By death_entry in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2004, 12:43 AM
  4. Hosting Controller
    By rizwan65 in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-09-2003, 10:46 AM
  5. Smart hosting controller admin error
    By A Web Host in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-03-2002, 06:09 PM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •