Results 1 to 30 of 30
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320

    Softlayer Seattle down?

    seems like they are having issues, all our nodes at Seattle facility are down... even their test files are not working.

    Anybody else?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Clovis, CA
    Posts
    277
    Could be due to the storm in seattle.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,282
    Yes. down.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    at least one of our servers is now up... hopefully won't take that long for the rest

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    133
    It is down for me as well

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    funny there's no announcement on their portal and even network status indicates http://i53.tinypic.com/2sakysh.png

  7. #7
    seattle occuring storm ? bad news.

  8. #8
    My server is down too. Cannot even connect to VPN

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    578
    It is down for me as well . 4 of our servers there are not accessible.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    just found out.... wow does this mean servers are actually down? hope there will be no data corruption!

    =================
    Date: 06-04-2011
    Start time: 00:00
    Services Affected: power
    Device: All devices
    Location: sea01
    Duration: Emerging Issue
    Description: We are currently experiencing power issues in Seattle, technicians are on-site investigating the issue and restoring power to affected devices.

    Sincerely,
    SoftLayer Emergency Response Team
    https://status.softlayer.com
    =================
    Last edited by QuickWeb-Roel; 06-04-2011 at 05:48 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    133
    From: https://status.softlayer.com
    ==================================
    Softlayer experienced a power event which caused the Seattle datacenter to go offline. Their UPS's failed to pick up the load and their engineers are currently investigating. At this time power has been restored, and we are working on bringing all devices back online into working order.
    ==================================

  12. #12
    Last month it's the router, this month it's the power. I moved my server from Dallas to Seattle to save 30ms latency to the Asia, but now it seems to be a bad decision.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    actually one of our servers went offline briefly then went up.... maybe the UPS kicks in on that box as it didn't went totally down as uptime indicates.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    Quote Originally Posted by Kamejoko View Post
    Last month it's the router, this month it's the power. I moved my server from Dallas to Seattle to save 30ms latency to the Asia, but now it seems to be a bad decision.
    and last night Washington DC router firmware update which resulted in total downtime! so much for 100% guarantee uptime really.

  15. #15
    https://status.softlayer.com
    Seattle, WA - Public Network down now.
    waiting for updates...

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    578
    1 server out of 4 just came online.

  17. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrahost View Post
    Softlayer experienced a power event which caused the Seattle datacenter to go offline. Their UPS's failed to pick up the load and their engineers are currently investigating. At this time power has been restored, and we are working on bringing all devices back online into working order.
    ==================================
    I reckon Servers through 100TB use different power source??
    We have one server with 100TB which was down for about 15 minutes but now up.
    Server status doesn't show any reboot.
    All other servers at SL Seattle DC are still down.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Clovis, CA
    Posts
    277
    3 of my servers came up, and guess what.. Hard drives got corrupted..

    Thank god for r1soft.

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew.S View Post
    3 of my servers came up, and guess what.. Hard drives got corrupted..

    Thank god for r1soft.
    How long will it take you to restore the corrupted HDD?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Clovis, CA
    Posts
    277
    Just 2 of the servers hdd's went bad. I'm going to wait before i do anything..Going to put in a request to transfer them back to texas. I'm getting tired of seattle problems.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Clovis, CA
    Posts
    277
    Quote Originally Posted by PremiumHost View Post
    How long will it take you to restore the corrupted HDD?
    It could take a while but since im going to rsync my clients and stuff to another server. shouldnt take that long if its to another internal softlayer server.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    My server is still down, over 6 hours.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,574
    Since April, 10 I have a 3rd party VPS there but never went in production -- Softlayer's Seattle is not as dependable as I expected.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    Server still down!

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    Still down! Over 15 hours downtime?

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    guys, if your server is still down check it via console for all you know there could be data corruption that's preventing your OS to go up... happened to one of our nodes!

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    Quote Originally Posted by QuickWeb-Roel View Post
    guys, if your server is still down check it via console for all you know there could be data corruption that's preventing your OS to go up... happened to one of our nodes!
    Can you explain how to do that? I got my server with 100TB, do I have access to that?

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,320
    Quote Originally Posted by chasebug View Post
    Can you explain how to do that? I got my server with 100TB, do I have access to that?
    to cp.10tb.com and in the server details you should see the IPMI info, but you need to have Softlayer VPN account to be able to connect to it, open a ticket with 100tb support to give you one.

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    My server is back up now but there is some problem:

    Device SDB and SDC has swapped places (as shown in fdisk). Don't know why.
    Device SDD now returns "doesn't contain a valid partition table"

    Right now I just tried to mount SDD and it works. But what should I do about the partition table?

    How do I fix this?
    Last edited by chasebug; 06-04-2011 at 10:52 PM.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by chasebug View Post
    My server is back up now but there is some problem:

    Device SDB and SDC has swapped places (as shown in fdisk). Don't know why.
    Device SDD now returns "doesn't contain a valid partition table"

    Right now I just tried to mount SDD and it works. But what should I do about the partition table?

    How do I fix this?
    submit a ticket on cp.100tb.com, see what they can do.

Similar Threads

  1. Softlayer - Dallas, Seattle or DC
    By hostmeter in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-15-2008, 09:55 AM
  2. SoftLayer - Seattle DC goes live - Double RAM Double Drive on Seattle Servers
    By SoftLayer Sales in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-17-2008, 01:06 PM
  3. SoftLayer Dallas DC vs SoftLayer Seattle DC?
    By CDK277 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 07:52 AM
  4. Softlayer - Seattle Datacentre
    By Liam - OxyUK in forum WebHostingTalk Subscribers Club
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2007, 02:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •