Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706

    HP Procurve 2848 does not pick up MAC addresses from port server is plugged into?

    Having a weird issue with a few HP Procurve 2848s for a client.
    The VLANs are configured upstream on a 6509.

    The problem is that the HP 2848's sometimes do not pick up the configured VLAN on the assigned port. It does not even pick up the MAC address of the attached server.

    It will randomly be able to, we dont know why or what causes it to be able to pick up the MAC and thus, work.
    Other times it just doesnt work at all (at least not within a few minutes). Tried different ports, different servers (with different NICs/motherboards) and its happening over 2 switches (so far).

    Is there something weird about these HP 2848s that make them take a long time to pick up any MACs / vlans freshly assigned to a port?

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    1,557
    did you try rebooting the switch and upgrading the firmware to a newer one ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    What firmware? If you aren't on the latest rule out all else and update first.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    Rebooting the switch has been attempted and I'm told they are on the latest firmware, but we will need to double check I guess.

    Any one else had this issue?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,627
    Quote Originally Posted by CGotzmann View Post
    Rebooting the switch has been attempted and I'm told they are on the latest firmware, but we will need to double check I guess.

    Any one else had this issue?
    We have J4904's pretty extensively deployed in a mixed HP/Cisco environment and have not seen that issue.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    The newest firmware apparently only works with HP SFP's. Can anyone refute that?
    Will they work with Cisco SFP's?
    Right now, they are working with the Cisco SFPs (but no other brand)... will the new firmware still allow Cisco-branded SFPs?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    The switches are running I.10.77 (67) (which is the newest) and yes they work with Cisco SFP's.

    So we have latest firmware on them.... weird problem... any further suggestions?

  8. #8
    I would just try hard power cycling the affected server (at the PDU). I've seen strange issues with my dell switches where some traffic isn't passed until I do this (it forces the ethernet port on the server to shut off), where doing an administrative down / up on the switch didn't help. I know these are totally different switches, but it's worth a try.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    534
    Did you try a different cable as well? I've seen miswired cables fail the auto-negotiation process and thus fail to reach a point where packets can actually meet the wire so it never has a chance to learn the MAC/VLAN.

    --Chris
    The Object Zone - Your Windows Server Specialists for more than twelve years - http://www.object-zone.net/
    Services: Contract Server Management, Desktop Support Services, IT/VoIP Consulting, Cloud Migration, and Custom ASP.net and Mobile Application Development

Similar Threads

  1. HP PROCURVE 2848 - HP J4904A
    By serverx in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-20-2010, 09:42 AM
  2. HP ProCurve Switch 2848 J4904A
    By bhavicp in forum Web Hosting Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 01:15 AM
  3. HP ProCurve 2848 J4904A - Any experiences?
    By bhavicp in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 12:45 PM
  4. procurve 2848 performance
    By linktome in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 01:04 PM
  5. procurve 2848 price
    By hpham in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-28-2007, 02:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •