Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010

    WHM - Can you add new nameservers to accounts in bulk?


    I've recently added additional nameservers to my reseller hosting.

    Previously I only had to nameservers (ns1 and ns2).

    Now that I have ns1, 2, 3 and 4 - I am finding it difficult to find a way of adding the 2 new additional nameservers in the dns zones for every customer.

    Is there a way to do this in bulk? or do i have to go through each one individually.

  2. #2

    I believe it is a manual task for each one - there is no bulk way of doing this im afraid.
    l VC-Hosting.COM sales [at]
    l Reseller Hosting WHMCS License Included
    l Shared Hosting Auto Script Installers

  3. #3
    I'm not sure but you could try adding ns3 and ns4 as your nameservers and update 1 zone to see if it adds them. Also take a look at what /scripts/rebuildnsdzones can do for you if the first part worked - Home to over 23,000 websites.
    Contact us: 866.945.6952
    Offering: 24/7/365 Support, Web Builder and Softaculous.
    Read over 100+ reviews about us at RateLobby!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    SSH Terminal
    you can set nameserver updation by default at the time of migration to new server, else you will have to do it manually.
    █ Web Hosting: Reliable inexpensive web hosting solution for you
    █ Reseller Hosting: Power Reseller Hosting with Cpanel/WHM and 24x7 support
    █ Domain Registration: Register Domain names, Domain registration in India
    █ Digital Certificates: Digital Certificates with Dedicated IP at no additional cost

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    You might be able to write a script to update all the zone files, but it would be a pretty complex script and you'd have to test it very well so as not to screw up your zones on a live production server, that would be horrible!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    I'm pretty sure, as others have said, this would have to be done manually.

    If you got a few people to help out, i'd just split the task between you guys by assigning someone websites A-K L-Q R-Z or something.
    vpsBoard - An active resource for all things Virtual Private Servers. Tutorials, Guides, Offers and more!
    Come join the conversation! 90,000 posts and growing daily! The fastest growing hosting forum around!

  7. #7
    Here is a little help if you're using bind

    for i in `ls -1 /var/named | grep '.db'`; do dom=`echo $i-- | awk -F\.db\-\- {'print $1'}`; echo $i $dom; done;
    That code will show you the file name and the domain name ready for use, now for the next step you need to backup /var/named first just in case something goes wrong, then add somewhere before the "done":

    echo "$dom. 86400 IN NS" >> /var/named/$i
    Then restart named not the best way but I think it could do the job... use it at your own risk. - Home to over 23,000 websites.
    Contact us: 866.945.6952
    Offering: 24/7/365 Support, Web Builder and Softaculous.
    Read over 100+ reviews about us at RateLobby!

  8. #8
    Try to do a search for some scripts that could possibly do this. Otherwise manually I think.

  9. #9
    I think it's better to manage all DNS under 2 or 3 dns servers, it's not quite good to setup so many dns servers.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Riga, Latvia
    Normally, one would do this with a simple script, that just checks zones stored in /var/named and adds a new line in each of them (pretty easy: list all the appropriate files and cycle through them).

    There is however one catch: you should always update the timestamp on dns update. This is a bit more complicated, unfortunately, but still not a hard job, as all the zone files conform to one standard.
    If availability is important, choose Serveriem.LV - the uptime makers
    Shared hosting and OpenVZ VPS

Similar Threads

  1. URGENT, how do I add MULTIPLE > 4 nameservers in WHM/cpanel
    By mouseattack in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-27-2006, 10:28 PM
  2. nameservers in whm accounts
    By streetmedia in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-18-2004, 02:47 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-08-2004, 01:45 PM
  4. PHP script to add accounts to WHM/CPanel
    By giantstep in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-26-2002, 01:30 PM
  5. How to add bulk reseller in WHM ?!
    By NetGeek in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-12-2002, 09:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts