Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    98

    Cisco 6500 Smartnet Question

    Hi All,

    Can anyone confirm/refute that Cisco 6500 smartnet are based upon chassis not line cards and supervisors? We are looking to add a smartnet to one of our 6506's with sup720-3bxl, 6748 and 2x2500w. Do any other options play into the pricing at all?

    Thanks in advance!
    __________________
    Enteracloud Solutions //
    Scalable Enterprise Architecture for Small and Medium Businesses
    www.enteracloud.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    428
    Yes the smartnet is based upon the chassis only. The exceptions to that are services blades and modules i.e. SVC blades such as FWSM/CSM etc. The only other thing that would change the pricing is if your 6506 is sku'd up as a bundle not a base 6506 chassis. Based upon your config you will be 100% covered by a contract on the chassis.

    One thing to note is if its a base 6506 that will be reaching end of support on nov 30th 2012. The recommend upgrade path is to a 6506-E.
    Edge 1, LLC
    http://www.edge1.net | 800.392.2349
    Cisco SMARTnet & Licensing Specialists | Datacenter/Network Design & Management Consulting | Cisco New & Certified Refurb Equipment Sales

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by sct4a View Post
    Yes the smartnet is based upon the chassis only. The exceptions to that are services blades and modules i.e. SVC blades such as FWSM/CSM etc. The only other thing that would change the pricing is if your 6506 is sku'd up as a bundle not a base 6506 chassis. Based upon your config you will be 100% covered by a contract on the chassis.

    One thing to note is if its a base 6506 that will be reaching end of support on nov 30th 2012. The recommend upgrade path is to a 6506-E.
    This is great information and super helpful, thanks!
    __________________
    Enteracloud Solutions //
    Scalable Enterprise Architecture for Small and Medium Businesses
    www.enteracloud.com

Similar Threads

  1. recommended stable IOS build for cisco 6500/sup720?
    By litany in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-2011, 09:56 AM
  2. cisco 6500 crash enabling netflow
    By litany in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 04:50 AM
  3. BGP - Cisco 6500 - Help?
    By ti_nhatrang in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-27-2009, 05:11 PM
  4. QOS Rate Limiting Cisco 6500
    By slip9 in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-03-2008, 06:44 PM
  5. Cisco 6000 and 6500 difference
    By Pickup_Sticks in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-02-2006, 08:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •