Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    98

    Anyone have experience with triple tag vlans? (QinQinQ)

    We are trying to stretch multiple vlans across multiple sites using the mpls network from our provider.

    Currently we just have two endpoints and they have QinQ enabled on their link plus frame sizes to allow for the extra space for the tags. This allows us to have transparent layer 2 across a number of customer vlans.

    Now we are moving to multiple endpoints at multiple cities and would like to keep this functionality in place. From what I understand we would have to implement QinQ inside of the vlan given by our provider.

    Has anyone worked with this type of config before?

    Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
    __________________
    Enteracloud Solutions //
    Scalable Enterprise Architecture for Small and Medium Businesses
    www.enteracloud.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    367

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    102
    We've done this for a couple of client requirements with double stacked QinQ on 3750-G and 3750-E kit. It works fine apart from BPDUs on the original vLAN (before it is double stacked in 802.1q). The BPDUs get a custom MAC address when they are wrapped up in QinQ and the second tagging seems to change this again so it can't go back to the original value when everything is unwrapped.
    David Barker
    4D Data Centres - Independent UK based data centre operator http://www.4d-dc.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by dbarker View Post
    We've done this for a couple of client requirements with double stacked QinQ on 3750-G and 3750-E kit. It works fine apart from BPDUs on the original vLAN (before it is double stacked in 802.1q). The BPDUs get a custom MAC address when they are wrapped up in QinQ and the second tagging seems to change this again so it can't go back to the original value when everything is unwrapped.

    Thanks for the insight, did you end up using BPDU guard to BPDU filter on those ports?
    __________________
    Enteracloud Solutions //
    Scalable Enterprise Architecture for Small and Medium Businesses
    www.enteracloud.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by LoginTech View Post
    We do this all the time, although we're not doing it over MPLS so I'm not sure how that'll play into it.

    You'll want to look at 802.1ah (Provider Backbone Bridging) which is QinQ and then MACinMAC. Our Brocades do this just fine.
    This is very cool indeed. I was taking a look at the cisco equip we have and it looks like most of the 802.1ah support is more closely aligned with their higher end routing equipment. I was hoping to do this with 6500's as purchasing ASR 9000's would make this an expensive endeavor.
    __________________
    Enteracloud Solutions //
    Scalable Enterprise Architecture for Small and Medium Businesses
    www.enteracloud.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-17-2011, 08:06 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-26-2010, 02:01 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-28-2010, 09:23 AM
  4. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 10-10-2008, 08:51 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2008, 02:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •