Hybrid View

Host Reco for New Vbulletin Forum?

Hi All! Looking for a host reco for a new vBulletin forum. My primary needs are:

1. Tech Support. I'm a total NooB at the moment so quality assistance with installation, mods, etc. would be greatly appreciated. I have no qualms paying a premium on hosting for a provider that can function, at least in part, as my IT expert and help me rapidly run up the learning curve.

2. Scalability. The forum is new so I'm leaning towards a shared server; however, it'd be nice to be with a host that the forum can seamlessly grow with over time as needed (e.g., VPS and beyond). I'm anticipating 10-20 concurrent users in beta and 50-75 users 8 months after launch.

3. Low Cost. This project is out of pocket so watching the bottom line is important. Glad to pay extra for quality support (see Point #1) if it can help me get my site running faster and easier. Currently thinking of a hosting budget in the range of $15-25 per month.

Having reviewed the forums, many members on this site give high praise to urljet, hostgator, globalgold and servint. (I recognize that at least one of these hosts doesn't offer a shared hosting plan.)

So, who should I use for quality vBulletin hosting?

Very much appreciate your thoughts and letting me tap the community brain trust
    Last edited by 4play; 05-14-2011 at 04:02 PM.

If you're looking for that level of support, you will probably not find it at the large hosting providers.

The mid-size companies will probably have the time to give you the level of support you are asking for.

Basic vBulletin installation and setup will often be done as a courtesy to you by the good hosting companies. vBulletin Mod installation will almost always incur extra cost.

Easy scalability will probably be best found in clustered or cloud hosting.