Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: DNS help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    newcastle, UK

    * DNS help

    Hi i have the domian with, and a few addresses.

    i found out if i leave it default to there name servers an just cname to my address it will work.

    i have successfuly setup with a cname pointing to, working fine. using apache vertual hosts.

    here is the setup page from for my DNS;

    what i want to know is if i can point to a dynamic address without web forwording.

    i dont want to use WWW as a cname as then only would work not

    thanks lee

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    So if I understand you right you want to create the record:
    @ IN CNAME
    I'm fairly sure that's not allowed, although from the looks of these Google results it may be in future.

    For now I'd suggest you use the www CNAME and point your main domain at any shared hosting account (low cost or free, potentially) where you just redirect to www.

    Edit: This result from the Google search is interesting if you're feeling brave!
    Last edited by foobic; 05-11-2011 at 09:36 PM.

    "Some problems are so complex that you have to be highly intelligent and well informed just to be undecided about them." - Laurence J. Peter

Similar Threads

  1. - cPanel DNS Only - DNS Custer Server - $7.99/month
    By Siterack_net in forum Other Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-14-2011, 07:48 PM
  2. Plesk 9.3 & DNS (Microsoft DNS or BIND) SOA Bug?
    By EduardoM in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-27-2010, 04:43 PM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-11-2009, 04:53 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-02-2008, 05:26 PM
  5. Replies: 40
    Last Post: 06-11-2001, 11:54 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts