Switching VPS hosts! Best one for me?

Okay, so I have been looking around the forums for the past day or two and it looks like these types of threads are okay even though they're asked a lot as every situation is different. Here I go..

I currently use HostV VPS VZ1 and I have been for at least 3-4 years. It's the only host I've ever used and in the past it's had issues with down time and customer support. It's gotten better but I feel like for what I'm paying I should be getting better performance and customer service. I used to be on a shared server and after I upgraded, the performance was basically the same.

Needs (some of these can be adjusted)
    RAM: 512+
    Burstable Ram: 1gb
    Disk Space: 40+ at least
    -full root access
    -SSH
    -ecommerce, shopping carts are a plus
    -help in transferring from my current vps
    -cPanel
    -WHM - or an equivalent. I currently use WHM and any other tool that does the same thing is fine.
    -Virtuozzo?

I'm still a newbie at the whole VPS thing and I'm a bit confused about the "power panel" "cpanel" "whm" stuff..are they all the same or?

-reseller capability (not a deal breaker)
    Budget: $45/month maximum

This is for a few blogs I run and a lot of software and database stuff. A lot of Moodle stuff, wordpress and open source software. Some are production sites and some will be me testing, installing, removing. A lot of development. A lot of creations of databases and queries to the databases.

I consult for web stuff and often times use my VPS to show clients things. For the future I can see a lot more software production sites like Moodle for customers I consult with.

I am looking a lot at InMotion Hosting. I've seen some good reviews of it. What do you think?

Another question is has anyone used cirtex/hostv? Since I have only used this one host I can't compare it to anything else. The last thing I want to do is leave it and find out woops this one is even worse!