managed v semi v unmanaged

Hi guys, I currently have a fully managed VPS, but looking to switch. I want to make sure I understand managed v semi managed v unmanaged.

I am a newbie linux and server stuff but comfortable around it a bit. Part of the reason why I have VPS is to continue to learn more. I definitely want to have help in the managed part but if I get a managed VPS does that still allow me to do software and server stuff on my own?

I want to be confident in having help but also have the flexibility having at the least OPTION of doing everything myself as I get better at it.

Thanks!

It really depends on the Host some will give you full access on a Managed Server. Some will not give you root access. All depends. Talk to the host before you make your decision.

Get a 5$/month ( or less ) vps and play around. Keep the managed service if you have some important for you sites to host. I agree with shell-box for the rest. Ask the host first.

Quote Originally Posted by MBGear View Post
    Get a 5$/month ( or less ) vps and play around. Keep the managed service if you have some important for you sites to host.
    Agreed. It's always good have the extra help should you need it. No one person knows how to fix everything.

Quote Originally Posted by melbs View Post
    Hi guys, I currently have a fully managed VPS, but looking to switch. I want to make sure I understand managed v semi managed v unmanaged.

I am a newbie linux and server stuff but comfortable around it a bit. Part of the reason why I have VPS is to continue to learn more. I definitely want to have help in the managed part but if I get a managed VPS does that still allow me to do software and server stuff on my own?

I want to be confident in having help but also have the flexibility having at the least OPTION of doing everything myself as I get better at it.

Thanks!