Results 1 to 34 of 34
  1. #1

    Metered PDU recommendation

    Based on your experience, which metered PDU (not switched PDU) is better.. APC or Tripp Lite?
    Last edited by nowanda; 05-09-2011 at 03:56 PM.
    WEB.COM.PH Inc.
    Domain Registration | Shared Hosting | Dedicated Servers | Colocation | Server Management
    http://web.com.ph

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    Tripplite works great. Lots of people here will jump on the APC band wagon without ever having tried the Tripplites (or even the APCs, and are just parroting back what they think is cool). No issues at all and work just as advertised.

    If you just want metering with no switching, then this model is good:

    Tripplite pdumh20

    Lots of these in use by our colo clients who needed PDUs, and having metering is very important when you have a lot of servers or power-hungry machines in the rack.
    Keeps you from accidentally blowing your breaker, as well as fast and easy in-row reconnaissance of power usage.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    4,183
    Good experience with APC, never worked (or even heard) from Tripp Lite.
    The zero-U AP7951's are the ones we use most of the time.
    www.InstantDedicated.com - Online in no time
    Dedicated Servers in [EU] Netherlands with DAILY support, also on weekends
    DDOS Protected network - 100% Money Back if it doesn't work for you
    Streaming / IPTV allowed | Up to 10 Gbit ports | 100% Network Uptime

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    3,507
    I'm one of the people, that Chris mentions, jumping on the APC bandwagon without ever considering tripp lite. Happy camper.
    Dallas Colocation by Incero, 8 years and counting!
    e: sales(at)incero(dot)com 855.217.COLO (2656)
    Colocation & Enterprise Servers, SATA/SAS/SSD, secure IPMI/KVM remote control, 100% U.S.A. Based Staff
    SSAE 16, SAS70, Redundant Power & Network, Fully Diverse Fiber

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    490
    Used both (tripp lite as end user) a bit, never had a problem with either.

    That said, we usually do just go with APC for the sake of consistency when setting up a new cabinet.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    L.A., CA
    Posts
    3,706
    P.S.
    Theres nothing wrong with APC, I just dont like something being recommended
    "just because" when there are alternatives that function just as well. Sometimes in threads it seems that APC is the only game in town.
    Tripplite has a good product line for PDUs.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    550
    Has anyone had failures on APC or Tripp-Lite PDUs? We don't keep spares for our PDUs and I wonder if we should in case of failure. We have APC AP7930s currently.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    490
    We have seen a failure of the management module on an APC, but never to the point that the power strip itself fails. We try to keep a spare in the datacenter to be safe, but don't feel the need to keep one spare per cabinet like we do other devices.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1,583
    We have a 4 piece setup that we use in our APC cabs.

    1x 1U 20A 208V Metered PDU at the bottom with a 208v 20A feed.
    http://www.apc.com/products/resource...ase_sku=AP7821

    Then 3x 15 C13 plug strips.
    http://www.apc.com/products/resource...ase_sku=AP9572

    Example: http://hostthenpost.org/uploads/3c13...adf64a7492.jpg

    This way we can double up the strips if the customer does not want Y cables or wants redundant power, simply add a second PDU at the bottom. The ZeroU metered PDU are not big enough to match all the plug location in the rack, and 20 plugs is never enough.

    We've been doing this for a few racks and so far its the best setup we've got, a little more expensive than other methods but overall most organized and flexible.

    Never used tripplite, have seen some messy customers using their stuff though!
    'Ripcord'ing is the only way!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Posts
    307
    Are you saying that you daisy-chain your PDU's?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    215
    I have used APC, Tripp Lite, Eaton, and Baytech. The only real issues I've had with any of those the "NIC" on the Baytechs having to be reset every once in a while. Granted, it's been a good 7-8 years since I have used those.

  12. #12
    Ok, in CDW the APC metered PDU is twice the price of Tripp Lite. Seems to me Tripp Lite is the way to go.
    WEB.COM.PH Inc.
    Domain Registration | Shared Hosting | Dedicated Servers | Colocation | Server Management
    http://web.com.ph

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    3,507
    Quote Originally Posted by nowanda View Post
    Ok, in CDW the APC metered PDU is twice the price of Tripp Lite. Seems to me Tripp Lite is the way to go.
    Sure you're not looking at remotely managed vs non managed?
    Dallas Colocation by Incero, 8 years and counting!
    e: sales(at)incero(dot)com 855.217.COLO (2656)
    Colocation & Enterprise Servers, SATA/SAS/SSD, secure IPMI/KVM remote control, 100% U.S.A. Based Staff
    SSAE 16, SAS70, Redundant Power & Network, Fully Diverse Fiber

  14. #14
    Yeah... was too quick to comment. I think my mind is already set that's why. Thanks.
    WEB.COM.PH Inc.
    Domain Registration | Shared Hosting | Dedicated Servers | Colocation | Server Management
    http://web.com.ph

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    428
    We recommend and are actually selling more raritan pdu's now then the apc's. I'd highly recommend looking into them.
    Edge 1, LLC
    http://www.edge1.net | 800.392.2349
    Cisco SMARTnet & Licensing Specialists | Datacenter/Network Design & Management Consulting | Cisco New & Certified Refurb Equipment Sales

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1,583
    Quote Originally Posted by DPG View Post
    Are you saying that you daisy-chain your PDU's?
    Where did I say that?

    Feed > 1U PDU > Distribution Strips

    Where is the *daisy chain*
    'Ripcord'ing is the only way!

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Posts
    307
    Quote Originally Posted by Visbits View Post
    Where did I say that?

    Feed > 1U PDU > Distribution Strips

    Where is the *daisy chain*
    You just said it again.

    Feed --- PDU --- another PDU = daisy chaining. This is against fire code.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    2,131
    Quote Originally Posted by DPG View Post
    You just said it again.

    Feed --- PDU --- another PDU = daisy chaining. This is against fire code.
    It's not. The first PDU is still with the proper breaker. It won't overload or overheat the circuit at any time.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Houston, Tx
    Posts
    307
    Quote Originally Posted by cresci View Post
    It's not. The first PDU is still with the proper breaker. It won't overload or overheat the circuit at any time.
    Feed ---- [email protected] (~4.1KW) ---- 3x [email protected] (~5.7KW)

    I still don't understand how this is not daisy-chaining. You have to factor in what the distributions strips can possibly draw. In this case they can together draw up to [email protected] total which would overload the PDU in front of it.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    2,131
    First, it needs to be in the same voltage. So:

    Feed (16A breaker) --> Master PDU, 20A/208V (16A TOTAL breaker) --> 3x 20A/208V distribution strips.

    Since the Master PDU has a breaker too, it WON'T let the distribution PDUs draw more than 16A ADDED (it doesn't magically multiply by two or three). The breaker will trip when the total reaches 16A, and not 48A. And if it fails, the Feed (UPS's) PDU will also trip on 16A total use.

    You can then distribute a total load of 16A on the three PDUs as you wish.

    Daisy-chaining implies there is no fuse on the master unit, to limit the total draw. Then the 3x distribution units would try to draw the maximum they can, and that is the thing that is not allowed and against fire code.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    550
    Quote Originally Posted by mkc View Post
    We have seen a failure of the management module on an APC, but never to the point that the power strip itself fails. We try to keep a spare in the datacenter to be safe, but don't feel the need to keep one spare per cabinet like we do other devices.
    We've had this also -- the management interface failed. It's possible to reset it (on-site) while keeping the PDU up so no machines go down. So far it's happened twice in about 5 years as I recall.

  22. #22
    I have found APC to be the most reliable in general. If you were a betting man you would bet on APC.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    1,583
    Quote Originally Posted by cresci View Post
    First, it needs to be in the same voltage. So:

    Feed (16A breaker) --> Master PDU, 20A/208V (16A TOTAL breaker) --> 3x 20A/208V distribution strips.

    Since the Master PDU has a breaker too, it WON'T let the distribution PDUs draw more than 16A ADDED (it doesn't magically multiply by two or three). The breaker will trip when the total reaches 16A, and not 48A. And if it fails, the Feed (UPS's) PDU will also trip on 16A total use.

    You can then distribute a total load of 16A on the three PDUs as you wish.

    Daisy-chaining implies there is no fuse on the master unit, to limit the total draw. Then the 3x distribution units would try to draw the maximum they can, and that is the thing that is not allowed and against fire code.
    THANK YOU

    Servers have a lot of power plugs, not a lot of draw, most of our customers are using x3430s and i3-550s which don't use much power at all.
    'Ripcord'ing is the only way!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    669
    Anyone tried one of these?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812737009

    It looks a hell of a deal for Metered and Switched. It even looks like the display has 3 digits so hoping for fraction of an amp output.

    That said, I have never even herd of Dynapower....

    Dave.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    151
    My vote is for Raritan, we use them and they work wonderfully well. We use the per-outlet metering although they are definitely on the higher end of the price range.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Reston, VA
    Posts
    3,132
    Quote Originally Posted by cresci View Post

    Daisy-chaining implies there is no fuse on the master unit, to limit the total draw. Then the 3x distribution units would try to draw the maximum they can, and that is the thing that is not allowed and against fire code.
    there was a long drawn out discussion about this. If you ask a Loudon County Firemarshal in VA he will say this is illegal and a violation of fire code.

    The code is up to the county and state of which your equipment is located in. Even if your "Connectors" are correct and follow the right standards/etc the firemarshall can still shut you down.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2,574
    Quote Originally Posted by ameeriklane View Post
    Has anyone had failures on APC or Tripp-Lite PDUs? We don't keep spares for our PDUs and I wonder if we should in case of failure. We have APC AP7930s currently.
    Recently I found this detailed review posted at Amazon while looking for a spare PDU.

    February 7, 2011
    By
    Bernd Pfrommer - See all my reviews


    This review is from: Tripp Lite PDUMH20ATNET Power Distribution Unit Metered PDU 1U 16 Outlets 20 Amp Web Card Auto Transfer Switching (Electronics)

    This device has an amazing feature set: lots of outlets, automated transfer switch, and switchable outlets at a very low price.

    I deployed 4 of those devices at a high-end data center in May of 2008. Now, 2.5 years later, three of them have complete loss of power on their primary feed, and have failed over to the secondary feed. One of the units was only connected to a primary feed, so when the primary feed input failed, the power to all connected devices went down.

    I opened the failed devices to examine, and found that diode D55 on the primary input circuit is burned out. The circuit board underneath the secondary feed's diode D50 looks black as well, indicating that it would probably burn out next, at which point both input feeds are lost, and with it power to all outlets. To anybody who owns one of these units: examine the circuit board around D50 and D55 for burn marks.

    In summary, within 2.5 years, 3 out of the 4 devices had a failure on the input feed circuit. The device looks like a bargain, but appears to have some design flaws. Use only for home, not for a data center!!!
    http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-PDU...ews/B000NKCGLS
    You will only find out how good a provider is when the going gets tough

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    Ouch... PDU is the last thing you should be worry about. APC for good reliability, hands down. Never had a failure and even some 10+ year old web-enabled switches are still humming along great.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  30. #30

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by FastServ View Post
    Ouch... PDU is the last thing you should be worry about. APC for good reliability, hands down. Never had a failure and even some 10+ year old web-enabled switches are still humming along great.
    I would go all APC, we have used them for years and never had one fail on the job. They are rather stable little guys, we also use the switched models. The price really is not that much more, and I see them on ebay from time to time.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Reston
    Posts
    305
    We use Baytech PDU's . They provide a little bit of a price break over APC and have been more than reliable, which sounds like may be an issue for the Tripp Lite. But, you could buy 2 or 3 TL PDU's for each APC you purchase. Although APC has a very sound reputation, it is still hardware and can still fail.
    Dan Buyer
    InfoRelay - Connected, Protected, Perfected.
    Equinix LAX & DC, One Wilshire, Wilshire Annex, MPT, VE, 1275K, Reston Exchange, Reston Equinix, 60 Hudson, NYC, and Chicago
    www.inforelay.com

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,571
    Quote Originally Posted by dbuyer0 View Post
    it is still hardware and can still fail.
    I tossed out an old 1U masterswitch it sat outside the building in nasty weather for over 2 months and was covered with dirt and had signs of corrosion.... for kicks I plugged it in and guess what, it worked perfectly...even the web interface. Gotta hand it to APC, they are doing something right LOL
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Since 2003 - Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,446
    In my opinion Trip Lite is more suitable because of its great features.

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    842
    If all you need is a basic PDU with metering, the Tripp Lite units are great, and are far less expensive than the comparable APC units. We use them throughout our datacenter with no problems at all. That being said, we have had a number of problems with some of the Tripp Lite switched PDU's, however, and there are a few models I would certainly stay away from at this point.
    Rob Tyree
    Versaweb - DDoS Protected Cloud and Dedicated Server Hosting
    Fiberhub - SAS70 Type-II Colocation in Las Vegas and Seattle

Similar Threads

  1. Does anyone see value in Switched & Metered PDU's?
    By B-Colo in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 11-04-2012, 11:33 PM
  2. Metered PDU 20A
    By SoFiMaN in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-25-2011, 01:00 PM
  3. Avocent metered/switched 30amp PDU both 1U and 0U - Brand new!
    By FazeWire in forum Other Web Hosting Related Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-22-2010, 11:38 PM
  4. Good cheap metered 30amps metered pdu ?
    By Nicarlo in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-21-2010, 08:25 PM
  5. Metered PDU
    By VN-Ken in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 08:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •