Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    52

    Is it possible to create a second user to access phpmyadmin

    Hi,

    I work with developer who said he needs to use the PHPmyadmin to work with the DB. I don't want to give him access to my cpanel info because then he can accidentally delete a file on the server or change something which I had bad experience with previously.

    Is there a way were I can add a second user just to the phpmyadmin page only? (without logging into the FTP account)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,904

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    52
    I don't have a standalone version of PHPmyadmin... so where does he enter the mysql user/pass to get in?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,762
    Add another user to the database...

    Give him the PHPMYADMIN location to access it.

    That's about it.
    Aaron Ong
    Dedicated Servers - 100TB Servers - 100Mbps Unmetered Servers - Web Hosting - CDN Network
    Servers in Central, East/West Coast USA, EUROPE and ASIA
    Welltodo Century
    - www.welltodocentury.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by aodat2 View Post
    Add another user to the database...

    Give him the PHPMYADMIN location to access it.

    That's about it.
    How can i do that?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,762
    Although you should be asking your host about this or perhaps even asking them to help you with it, you're getting a very slow response from us here... LOL.

    http://www.cpanel.net/media/tutorials/addmysql.htm

    Watch that and you'll basically know, I hope.
    Aaron Ong
    Dedicated Servers - 100TB Servers - 100Mbps Unmetered Servers - Web Hosting - CDN Network
    Servers in Central, East/West Coast USA, EUROPE and ASIA
    Welltodo Century
    - www.welltodocentury.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    The Shadows
    Posts
    2,913
    You will need to install phpMyAdmin on your website. The installation is fairly quick and painless and there are only a few config changes you need to make.
    Dan Sheppard ~ Freelance whatever

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by aodat2 View Post
    Although you should be asking your host about this or perhaps even asking them to help you with it, you're getting a very slow response from us here... LOL.

    http://www.cpanel.net/media/tutorials/addmysql.htm

    Watch that and you'll basically know, I hope.
    Thanks for the tutorial. I go ahead and install a standalone version of phpmyadmin and link the secondary user to the DB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    52
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheps View Post
    You will need to install phpMyAdmin on your website. The installation is fairly quick and painless and there are only a few config changes you need to make.
    Thanks for the response. Helped a lot. I have asked my hosting company to go ahead an do that for me.

Similar Threads

  1. How can I give a user phpMyAdmin access only?
    By Haitashi in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-30-2007, 11:10 AM
  2. Create a user with limited access
    By marsupillami in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2005, 07:08 AM
  3. Create database in phpmyadmin
    By lachtan in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-2005, 05:08 AM
  4. how do i create a root user with ftp access to entire server?
    By kimrari in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-21-2003, 06:37 PM
  5. no create option in phpmyadmin
    By netholding in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2002, 03:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •