hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : VPS Hosting : How to Reduce the High CPU usage
Reply

Forum Jump

How to Reduce the High CPU usage

Reply Post New Thread In VPS Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2011, 06:55 PM
GDMS GDMS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17

How to Reduce the High CPU usage


currently i'm on a VPS and i see high CPU usage on [php] <defunct> like 70%80% also i have vbseo and VBulletin any suggestions to decrease that will be great thanks.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-08-2011, 07:37 PM
MBGear MBGear is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 74
Is this a cpanel vps?

  #3  
Old 05-08-2011, 07:50 PM
DylanP DylanP is offline
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 229
What provider? cPanel? Specs? More info?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 05-09-2011, 07:37 PM
GDMS GDMS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
it is cpanel

  #5  
Old 05-09-2011, 07:45 PM
ThePrimeHost ThePrimeHost is offline
Dedicated & Managed VPS Gurus
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,175
Does your VPS provider offer management? If so your provider may be able to assist and or recommend various things / optimization / tweaking to reduce your CPU usage.

__________________
ThePrimeHost LLC - Serving Our Clients Since 2001.
Reseller Hosting with End User Support and WHMCS.
Fully Managed VPS with Cpanel and Dedicated Server Hosting.

  #6  
Old 05-09-2011, 10:01 PM
GDMS GDMS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by theprimehost View Post
Does your VPS provider offer management? If so your provider may be able to assist and or recommend various things / optimization / tweaking to reduce your CPU usage.
yes bro they tried everything but still it's same VBSEO causes the problem.

  #7  
Old 05-10-2011, 08:46 AM
HostXNow_Chris HostXNow_Chris is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 8,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by GDMS View Post
yes bro they tried everything but still it's same VBSEO causes the problem.
vBSEO can use quite a lot of CPU, etc. Might just need upgrade spec CPU/memory wise.

__________________
HostXNow - http://www.hostxnow.com | Since 2009
Fast, Secure and Reliable [UK/USA] Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - VPS Hosting
cPanel/WHM CloudLinux (Multi PHP) Offsite Backups LiteSpeed Website Builders Softaculous Domains SSL

  #8  
Old 05-10-2011, 09:25 AM
Vitya Vitya is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 158
Hello,

I have been facing exactly the same problem. I'm also on a VPS (VPSLatch), and have vBulletin + vBSEO. Today the server load reached upto 50+ (which normally stays around 0.5 - 1). I disabled all the Plug-ins GLOBALLY, However, the problem still persists. The VPS Management staff is still telling that vBSEO is the cause but howcome when all my plugins are globally disabled? I use around seven plug ins anyway. After this today's issue, I have strong feeling that vBSEO is NOT the ultimate cause. Also, It's important to note that I have been on the same VPS server since about a year and not faced much of problems so howcome all of sudden, when even traffic has marginal increase? I would like to hear some comments from REAL experts here.

PS: Another thing to note is that memory usage always stays under control. It's mainly CPU load which drastically shoots up. So upgrading the RAM won't help either.

Thanks.

  #9  
Old 05-10-2011, 09:33 AM
HostXNow_Chris HostXNow_Chris is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England, United Kingdom
Posts: 8,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by *VT* View Post
Hello,

I have been facing exactly the same problem. I'm also on a VPS (VPSLatch), and have vBulletin + vBSEO. Today the server load reached upto 50+ (which normally stays around 0.5 - 1). I disabled all the Plug-ins GLOBALLY, However, the problem still persists. The VPS Management staff is still telling that vBSEO is the cause but howcome when all my plugins are globally disabled? I use around seven plug ins anyway. After this today's issue, I have strong feeling that vBSEO is NOT the ultimate cause. Also, It's important to note that I have been on the same VPS server since about a year and not faced much of problems so howcome all of sudden, when even traffic has marginal increase? I would like to hear some comments from REAL experts here.

PS: Another thing to note is that memory usage always stays under control. It's mainly CPU load which drastically shoots up. So upgrading the RAM won't help either.

Thanks.
Maybe the node is overloaded causing high disk IO/abusive users, etc. Could be DDoS attacks. It could be anything. Only HostDime/VPSLatch will know the real reason. If you don't believe them, you can try another host that offers a 30 Day Money Back guarantee to test it on a different setup.

__________________
HostXNow - http://www.hostxnow.com | Since 2009
Fast, Secure and Reliable [UK/USA] Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - VPS Hosting
cPanel/WHM CloudLinux (Multi PHP) Offsite Backups LiteSpeed Website Builders Softaculous Domains SSL

  #10  
Old 05-10-2011, 09:41 AM
MBGear MBGear is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 74
If you have not updated your scripts ( VB + Plugins : a new version could bring in some bugs etc ) + no traffic increase + when you disable the plugins the cpu load remains high...then my opinion is that there is another guy ( VPS ) or tasks on the main node that create issues or even a software/hardware issue on the main node itself. I'm not a "real" expert...just my opinion.

  #11  
Old 05-10-2011, 11:46 AM
ThePrimeHost ThePrimeHost is offline
Dedicated & Managed VPS Gurus
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by GDMS View Post
yes bro they tried everything but still it's same VBSEO causes the problem.
As HostX stated, it may be time to upgrade to something with more powerful specs, a higher end VPS (perhaps Xen based) or perhaps a dedicated server.

__________________
ThePrimeHost LLC - Serving Our Clients Since 2001.
Reseller Hosting with End User Support and WHMCS.
Fully Managed VPS with Cpanel and Dedicated Server Hosting.

  #12  
Old 05-10-2011, 02:21 PM
GDMS GDMS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by *VT* View Post
Hello,

I have been facing exactly the same problem. I'm also on a VPS (VPSLatch), and have vBulletin + vBSEO. Today the server load reached upto 50+ (which normally stays around 0.5 - 1). I disabled all the Plug-ins GLOBALLY, However, the problem still persists. The VPS Management staff is still telling that vBSEO is the cause but howcome when all my plugins are globally disabled? I use around seven plug ins anyway. After this today's issue, I have strong feeling that vBSEO is NOT the ultimate cause. Also, It's important to note that I have been on the same VPS server since about a year and not faced much of problems so howcome all of sudden, when even traffic has marginal increase? I would like to hear some comments from REAL experts here.

PS: Another thing to note is that memory usage always stays under control. It's mainly CPU load which drastically shoots up. So upgrading the RAM won't help either.

Thanks.
you said it well.in this case i never recommend vbseo with VPS.perhaps with dedicated yes it will be fine.this is kind of major issue.even vbseo staff not ready to help any more with this issue.memory is 1GB but still nothing any issue with the memo.but we tried with 5 cpu added but still remain the same issue.any experts here please give us some advice thanks.

  #13  
Old 05-10-2011, 02:23 PM
GDMS GDMS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by HostXNow View Post
vBSEO can use quite a lot of CPU, etc. Might just need upgrade spec CPU/memory wise.
actually we didn't get any issue with memory it's perfectly controlled.and VBSEO script we optimized very well.but still the CPU shows very high usage on vbseo.php.

  #14  
Old 05-10-2011, 02:26 PM
GDMS GDMS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by HostXNow View Post
Maybe the node is overloaded causing high disk IO/abusive users, etc. Could be DDoS attacks. It could be anything. Only HostDime/VPSLatch will know the real reason. If you don't believe them, you can try another host that offers a 30 Day Money Back guarantee to test it on a different setup.
we have changed the node as well but same issue.I don't think it is DDos but all problem with VBSEO.They are not giving proper answer to optimized the server.as a paid product pissed me off.

  #15  
Old 05-10-2011, 02:28 PM
GDMS GDMS is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBGear View Post
If you have not updated your scripts ( VB + Plugins : a new version could bring in some bugs etc ) + no traffic increase + when you disable the plugins the cpu load remains high...then my opinion is that there is another guy ( VPS ) or tasks on the main node that create issues or even a software/hardware issue on the main node itself. I'm not a "real" expert...just my opinion.
everything are up to date trust me.

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I reduce my crazy wordpress CPU usage? crazlunatic Web Hosting 31 04-27-2013 08:25 AM
Major spike in Electrical Bill - Strategies to reduce utility demand usage & usage? boggin Colocation and Data Centers 12 03-15-2011 01:43 PM
Need help optimizing server, High load, high CPU usage chasebug Hosting Security and Technology 2 10-17-2009 08:38 AM
High CPU usage how to reduce it! rathin Dedicated Server 8 03-18-2008 11:56 AM
High Cpu Usage!! lokodezine Web Hosting Lounge 8 11-07-2003 10:27 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Iron.IO Releases Upgraded Version of Cloud Message Queuing Service Web Hosting News 2014-07-03 09:27:50
Virtual Internet Launches Colocation Services in London Market Web Hosting News 2013-03-15 16:32:03
Open Data Center Alliance Adds Frameworks for Software Entitlement, Data Security Web Hosting News 2013-03-14 15:33:01
PEER 1 Deploys Juniper Networks Technology in Portsmouth, UK Data Center Web Hosting News 2013-03-07 16:40:32
GoGrid Partners with Boston Big Data Research Group hack/reduce With Free Cloud Hosting Web Hosting News 2012-11-08 17:42:48


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?