Results 1 to 35 of 35
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330

    Which hard drive for server?

    Hi WH gurus,
    I am going to upgrade my existing 2x250GB hard drives to at least 2x1TB. I know it is a bit a matter of opinion, but nevertheless, according to your experience, what brand/models is the best? I need durable hard drives which do not cost a fortune and can be put in RAID 1 to accommodate a busy mysql server.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Berkshire, UK.
    Posts
    161
    WD RE (Raid Edition) Series would get my vote.

    Regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    Quote Originally Posted by Rob-Rackedeu View Post
    WD RE (Raid Edition) Series would get my vote.

    Regards
    Thanks mate,
    Would you get a RE3 or RE4?
    What about cache size? How much a disk with higher cache size boosts performance?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    216
    RE4(64) have bigger chache than RE3(32), well i prefer use SSD (plus fusionIO) for my intensive mysql operation than raid hard disk.
    Last edited by i2DOTNET; 05-07-2011 at 08:35 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Porto - Portugal
    Posts
    98
    If you need all that space, then RE4 would be the best option. If you just need a part of that space, maybe you should consider SAS drives since the better access time will give you better performance in this kind of production environment.

    It all dependends on the needed space and the available money.
    Visual-Fusion - Portuguese WebHosting
    :: Domain Register | Web Hosting | Reseller Plans | Cloud VPS | Dedicated Servers | Online Stores
    :: Registo Domínios | Alojamento Web | Revenda Alojamento | Servidores Virtuais | Servidores Dedicados | Lojas Online

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    SAS are bloody expensive, so for me out of the question at least for a couple of years.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    4,183
    Also a vote for WD Raid Edition disks Good experience with those.
    » www.InstantDedicated.com - Online in no time
    » Dedicated Servers in [EU] Netherlands with DAILY support, also on weekends
    » DDOS Protected network - 100% Money Back if it doesn't work for you
    » Streaming / IPTV allowed | Up to 10 Gbit ports | 100% Network Uptime

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    There seem to be an overwhelming consensus about superiority of WD RE. What about Seagate and Hitachi?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Porto - Portugal
    Posts
    98
    We use a lot of Seagate ES.2. They perform very well, however we got about 10% RMA rate. I believe it is a bit high for an enterprise grade hard drive.

    As for the "desktop" series such as 7200.12, I truly don´t recommend using them. They fail a lot more than ES.2 series.
    Visual-Fusion - Portuguese WebHosting
    :: Domain Register | Web Hosting | Reseller Plans | Cloud VPS | Dedicated Servers | Online Stores
    :: Registo Domínios | Alojamento Web | Revenda Alojamento | Servidores Virtuais | Servidores Dedicados | Lojas Online

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    83
    I recon any of the enterprise drives are ok, seagate, hitachi, western digital, samsung(havent seen a samsung enterprise drive yet).
    Find out which manufacturer is easiest/fastest to RMA.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    What is the difference Enterprise and Desktop editions? Isn't it mostly a matter of longer warranty and RAID firmware rather than difference in quality of build?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    83
    I was going to post a load of stuff, but i dont actually know.

    Added in afterthought >> sata vs stat enterprise dont really know. But I dont know a single desktop sata that would out live a 10k scsi cheetah in 24/7.
    Last edited by vertek; 05-09-2011 at 05:00 PM. Reason: changed it a bit

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Southern CA
    Posts
    170
    we use seagate constellation 3.5" SATA drives and they have been solid for the past 9 months of 24x7 hardware raid usage with intensive I/O

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    3,872
    Hmm, a mysql server with 2x1TB hard drives doesn't look good to me. Why don't you do 4x500GB in 0+1, you'll get a lot better disk i/o for mysql and the same amount of space.


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    3,507
    Quote Originally Posted by devonblzx View Post
    Hmm, a mysql server with 2x1TB hard drives doesn't look good to me. Why don't you do 4x500GB in 0+1, you'll get a lot better disk i/o for mysql and the same amount of space.
    Agreed.

    4x 500GB RE4 in RAID10 is a great setup, and will be faster than 2x 1TB RAID1. If you're using hardware RAID anyway then the extra cost will be minimal.
    Dallas Colocation by Incero, 8 years and counting!
    e: sales(at)incero(dot)com • 855.217.COLO (2656)
    Colocation & Enterprise Servers, SATA/SAS/SSD, secure IPMI/KVM remote control, 100% U.S.A. Based Staff
    SSAE 16, SAS70, Redundant Power & Network, Fully Diverse Fiber

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    Quote Originally Posted by devonblzx View Post
    Hmm, a mysql server with 2x1TB hard drives doesn't look good to me. Why don't you do 4x500GB in 0+1, you'll get a lot better disk i/o for mysql and the same amount of space.

    Your are certainly right but my server case can accommodate only 2 disk bays
    Last edited by zite; 05-09-2011 at 06:53 PM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    3,507
    Hardware RAID, or software RAID?

    If H/W then go for the 1TB RE3 (cache would be turned off on the disk anyway). If using S/W RAID then go for 2x 1TB WD Black to save costs.
    Dallas Colocation by Incero, 8 years and counting!
    e: sales(at)incero(dot)com • 855.217.COLO (2656)
    Colocation & Enterprise Servers, SATA/SAS/SSD, secure IPMI/KVM remote control, 100% U.S.A. Based Staff
    SSAE 16, SAS70, Redundant Power & Network, Fully Diverse Fiber

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    Sorry gordonrp, I'm not sure I understand the difference between hardware vs software raid. What I know it that I have a Dell R200 (which has a raid card) and I've asked the colo guy to set the two hard drives in RAID1. So I assume it is hardware raid?

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    534
    Quote Originally Posted by zite View Post
    Sorry gordonrp, I'm not sure I understand the difference between hardware vs software raid. What I know it that I have a Dell R200 (which has a raid card) and I've asked the colo guy to set the two hard drives in RAID1. So I assume it is hardware raid?
    Having a RAID "card" means your using hardware RAID.

    --Chris
    The Object Zone - Your Windows Server Specialists for more than twelve years - http://www.object-zone.net/
    Services: Contract Server Management, Desktop Support Services, IT/VoIP Consulting, Cloud Migration, and Custom ASP.net and Mobile Application Development

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    3,507
    Hrm I'm not sure if the R200 has onboard or hardware RAID. Maybe someone else can comment as to whether you need "RAID edition" drives (TLER).
    Dallas Colocation by Incero, 8 years and counting!
    e: sales(at)incero(dot)com • 855.217.COLO (2656)
    Colocation & Enterprise Servers, SATA/SAS/SSD, secure IPMI/KVM remote control, 100% U.S.A. Based Staff
    SSAE 16, SAS70, Redundant Power & Network, Fully Diverse Fiber

  21. #21
    My vote is for WD RE4 drives.

    I just built a storage server with 4 of them on Raid 10 and its a solid performer.
    Uploadingit.com - Fast Reliable File Hosting

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    147
    you can use either seagate ES3 or WD Re4, but if your budget is good then you can also use Seagate cheetah 15k SAS.
    MicraHosting : Peer1 Los Angeles Data Center
    Colocation and Dedicated Hosting

  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    83
    Once its not hotswap drive bay ull get 4x2.5 inch drives into 2x3.5 inch bay, by rights. and 4x2.5 as said above would be faster I think.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    Quote Originally Posted by sakhani View Post
    you can use either seagate ES3 or WD Re4, but if your budget is good then you can also use Seagate cheetah 15k SAS.
    Do these drives work out of the box in place of SATA drives?

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    147
    Yes, if you have SAS controller.

    Dell RAID controller capable for SAS (confirm with your provider)

    Quote Originally Posted by zite View Post
    Do these drives work out of the box in place of SATA drives?
    MicraHosting : Peer1 Los Angeles Data Center
    Colocation and Dedicated Hosting

  26. #26
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    83
    Just to clear it up, sata drives can be used on an SAS controller.
    SAS drives CANNOT be used on a sata controller

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    Thanks for the warning vertek. So how should I know whether I need a SAS controller? My server is Dell R200.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    147
    Can you give info about your raid controller?? (like PERC H200, PERC H700, SAS6i, PERC s300), after you will provide your controller info we can help you on this matter.

    Quote Originally Posted by zite View Post
    Thanks for the warning vertek. So how should I know whether I need a SAS controller? My server is Dell R200.
    MicraHosting : Peer1 Los Angeles Data Center
    Colocation and Dedicated Hosting

  29. #29
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    83
    i dont know anything about that model in particular.
    but when you get a dell r210 you have 3-5 models of raid to choose from.
    this is basing my knowledge on a poweredge 1750, when the server boots up it will have loads of writing checks and should mention which raid card is installed. I think you should be able to see it in the bios also.
    I'll have a look around if I can find some more helpfull information for you.
    but I would imagine someone else could get there before me

    brb

    Added >> right, so what ive gathered so far sata controller is onboard, if theres a raid card in pci slot its possibly an sas controller. But I dont actually know, sorry.
    Last edited by vertek; 05-09-2011 at 10:14 PM. Reason: added a bit

  30. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    Quote Originally Posted by sakhani View Post
    Can you give info about your raid controller?? (like PERC H200, PERC H700, SAS6i, PERC s300), after you will provide your controller info we can help you on this matter.
    Well this is what I see on the Dell's tech page:

    Code:
    RAID Controllers
    SAS 6i/R or PERC 6/E
    But not sure how can I extract the info from my (far away) server.

    @vertek No worries mate. I appreciate your effort.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    83
    thats where I got my info, an sas raid controller is quiet expensive if you need to get one. $200-400 and up for a good cheap one i think I'm only starting to mess with raid so I dont know whats available.

    Is the person you got the server off of not able to tell you ? or are you asking to data center to install the drives for you ?

    Added >> if you have root access somehow I would imagine there must be a command that tells you all the different things connected to the server, but I dont know the command.
    Last edited by vertek; 05-09-2011 at 10:21 PM. Reason: added another bit again :P

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    147
    SAS 6i/R and PERC 6/E both are capable for SAS, check your dell order which include all detail about your server and find out which controller you have.

    Quote Originally Posted by zite View Post
    Well this is what I see on the Dell's tech page:

    Code:
    RAID Controllers
    SAS 6i/R or PERC 6/E
    But not sure how can I extract the info from my (far away) server.

    @vertek No worries mate. I appreciate your effort.
    MicraHosting : Peer1 Los Angeles Data Center
    Colocation and Dedicated Hosting

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    Quote Originally Posted by sakhani View Post
    SAS 6i/R and PERC 6/E both are capable for SAS, check your dell order which include all detail about your server and find out which controller you have.
    Thanks a lot for your input. Now I can safely include SAS into my options

    Performance-wise, Do you reckon SAS drives really worth the extra large sum? What about their life-expectancy?

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    LA
    Posts
    147
    They have good life-expectancy, their disk I/O is high, so if you can afford it, then its best option. its upto you that you want to invest that much money for your server or not?? also depand on how much important DataBase read/write (I/O) for your application.

    Quote Originally Posted by zite View Post
    Thanks a lot for your input. Now I can safely include SAS into my options

    Performance-wise, Do you reckon SAS drives really worth the extra large sum? What about their life-expectancy?
    MicraHosting : Peer1 Los Angeles Data Center
    Colocation and Dedicated Hosting

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    330
    Here I found a very informative (however a bit outdated) comparison of SAS vs SATA.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-27-2010, 04:31 PM
  2. FDC Hard Drive or Server Take Over
    By bheka in forum Dedicated Hosting Offers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-23-2007, 01:29 PM
  3. How to transfer data from hard drive to hard drive in Linux?
    By wifiguru in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-26-2007, 04:02 PM
  4. 2nd hard-drive on server - uses?
    By saj in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 01-29-2005, 05:07 PM
  5. Second Hard Drive or Second Server??
    By netsolutions in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-10-2002, 08:17 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •