Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    482

    How to rename server

    Hiya, Im using CentOS and would like to know how to rename my server wether be SSH or via cpanel as the default "server" is still there.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    884

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,762
    Fairly simple ain't it? Did you manage to get it done, OP?
    Aaron Ong
    Dedicated Servers - 100TB Servers - 100Mbps Unmetered Servers - Web Hosting - CDN Network
    Servers in Central, East/West Coast USA, EUROPE and ASIA
    Welltodo Century
    - www.welltodocentury.com

  4. #4
    CPanel rocks.
    Serverlogix.com - ★★ Managed VPS / Budget Servers / Colocation ★★
    Facilities : Atlanta, Buffalo and Las Vegas
    Web : http://www.serverlogix.comContact Us

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    482
    Quote Originally Posted by Atjeu-Damir View Post
    In Cpanel:

    Main >> Networking Setup >> Change Hostname
    My hostname is : server.allhostone.co.uk ,

    Im sure my server isnt called server.allhostone.co.uk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    2,762
    Hey mehboobashraf,

    Are you high on something? Coming in here and suddenly with the 2 words "CPanel rocks."? Are you OK? Is something wrong? Stressed? Overworked? Or something?
    Aaron Ong
    Dedicated Servers - 100TB Servers - 100Mbps Unmetered Servers - Web Hosting - CDN Network
    Servers in Central, East/West Coast USA, EUROPE and ASIA
    Welltodo Century
    - www.welltodocentury.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Casablanca
    Posts
    153
    If you want to change your hostname via SSH, just run the following command :
    hostname servername.yourdomain.com

    Example : hostname server00.allhostone.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    482
    Alright , ignore this thread now =D it renamed etc

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by mehboobashraf View Post
    CPanel rocks.
    It certainly makes the most used tasks a lot easier.

Similar Threads

  1. domain exists after rename on whm (dedicated server)
    By hostyourdream in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 04:51 AM
  2. Rename Windows 7?
    By M Bacon in forum Computers and Peripherals
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 07-28-2009, 04:49 PM
  3. rename VPS?
    By thinguy in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-16-2008, 07:53 AM
  4. rename *.db.bak -> *.db ??
    By MarsNIIT in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2006, 01:15 AM
  5. How do you rename a partition?
    By tgo149 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-18-2004, 12:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •