setting up vs (hostgator) - unmanaged, virtuozzo only, no cpanel

hi i guess the title says it all i just planned to migrate from my stupid bluehost shared to HG VPS due to inabality of shared one to handle traffic question is how do i configure a vps server ..any detailed tutorial will be an unmanaged one, no cpanel only VZ...i have no prior experience in this....teh one with cpanel seems a bit it impossible for a newbie to manage vps server without cpanel ? there must be a way..any deatiled tutorial or soemthing, plz let me know.i will highly obliged.....

San Francisco
    If you have no experience managing a server, I would really look into getting a managed VPS or at least one with cPanel to make your life easier. If you want to learn, check out

Good luck.

The backplane
    Second that, if you don't know where to start -- I would highly recommend you purchase a managed service. This isn't a simple "read a tutorial" proposition. OTOH, if this site isn't something important and you want to learn -- 5 minutes on Google will get you started.

good advice above. get managed vps.

New York
    As others have stated, it definitely soounds like you need a managed VPS. Alternatively, a reliable shared hosting plan may be fine for you. - Hosting websites since 1999!
    Shared Hosting, Cloud Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS Hosting, and Dedicated Servers
    End-User Support, WHMCS, and WHMReseller Available on Reseller Plans!
    Follow us on Twitter - new special every Sunday! @XeHost

Or install cpanel on the VPS. It's worth $15.
    The time to configure & manage the VPS without cpanel will be a lot more than $15. Hyper-V SSD VPS USA London Singapore
    Reseller Hosting Cpanel PURE SSD CloudLinux Softaculous
    Windows Reseller Asp.NET 4.5 MSSQL 2012 SmarterMail Enterprise

agreed if you have no management experience
    as it being a plain Linux server there are multiple ways to configure a plain Linux server

or just get DirectAdmin much cheaper