Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549

    Post OpenVZ server | strange memory !!

    Hi guys ...

    Node memory = 4 GB , free -m shows 3.6 WHY ?
    I have 2 VPSs only ...
    see my free -m outputs plz ... and advise .. ?

    [root@~]# free -m
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 3670 2587 1082 0 272 1660
    -/+ buffers/cache: 654 3015
    Swap: 8189 0 8189

    [root@~]# vzctl exec 106 free -m
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 256 15 240 0 0 0
    -/+ buffers/cache: 15 240
    Swap: 0 0 0

    [root@~]# vzctl exec 101 free -m
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 1024 688 335 0 0 0
    -/+ buffers/cache: 688 335
    Swap: 0 0 0

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  2. #2
    Are you running a 32 bit operating system on the host node? If so, that would account for this issue.

    Otherwise, I might suspect that shared graphics memory is using up the ram, but that's a lot of ram for shared graphics memory, so I would be surprised if that's the problem.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    its 32 bit ...
    can you advise for the rest ?

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  4. #4
    If you switch to PAE kernel, assuming all your hardware supports it properly, you could see the whole 4gb.
    Phoenix Dedicated Servers -- IOFLOOD.com
    Email: sales [at] ioflood.com
    Skype: iofloodsales
    Backup Storage VPS -- 1TBVPS.com

  5. #5
    uname -m
    x86_64 ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    hi dear ..
    uname -m
    i686

    but ... can U move to PAE whith out os reloading ?
    and how ?

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  7. Quote Originally Posted by Lost Eagle View Post
    hi dear ..
    uname -m
    i686

    but ... can U move to PAE whith out os reloading ?
    and how ?
    Do a 'yum list kernel', and see if there are any listed with PAE at the end. Did you use a yum repository to install OpenVZ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Quote Originally Posted by Lost Eagle View Post
    hi dear ..
    uname -m
    i686

    but ... can U move to PAE whith out os reloading ?
    and how ?
    Yes, you can update the kernel with PAE without requiring a OS reload. In reality you really should move to a 64bit system.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    PogiWeb
    ok .. how may I go to PAE ... can U advise ..
    moving to 64 bits will not work -- Hardware issue ...


    "ServerGurus"
    yum list kernel
    Loaded plugins: fastestmirror
    Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
    * addons: www.gtlib.gatech.edu
    * base: yum.singlehop.com
    * extras: mirror.rackspace.com
    * openvz-kernel-rhel5: mirrors.igsobe.com
    * openvz-utils: mirrors.igsobe.com
    * updates: centos.aol.com
    Available Packages
    kernel.i686 2.6.18-238.9.1.el5 updates
    --------------------
    why do my total VPS memory usage not equal to the node memory usage .. ?

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    If you have CentOS, yum, and the proper yum repo... Do the following command

    yum install ovzkernel-PAE

    You will then need to make sure that is the default kernel before rebooting the server.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    "PogiWeb"
    the server boot on openVZ kernel .. so i need "openVZ PAE"

    does that what you have provided ? "yum install ovzkernel-PAE"
    and would this afect the boot? or any VPSs on the same node ?

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Yes, your server would need ovzkernel-pae to support more than 4gb of ram. I'm not really sure what your asking in regards to the boot. It's very much possible that it could affect the boot if some incompatibility issues comes up.

    I think the other question you might of forgot to ask is to make sure your MOBO supports more than 4GB of ram.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    Dear ...
    installing new openVZ kernel, would afect any data on the server ... ?

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    No, the kernel wouldn't affect any data on the server besides the kernel. The worst case scenarios that could happen is that the server won't boot up (request for KVM switch before rebooting or simply ask the datacenter tech to boot into the last previous working kernel) or server instability.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    I moved to PAE successfully ... its the server show the 4 Gb ,,

    but the sum of the consumed ram at the 2 VPSs not equal to the consumed at the node ?? why ?

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Does your server actually have more than 4GB of ram (hardware) installed?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    its 4 GB RAM, I will Add more 4 soon

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    You will need to add it if you want it to show 8GB.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    ya .. sure.. i know this ...
    THANX MAN

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

Similar Threads

  1. Confusing Memory Problems with OpenVZ
    By xeross in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-22-2011, 02:09 PM
  2. Guarantied memory on OpenVZ
    By sumi in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-01-2009, 06:00 PM
  3. How to limit memory for VE on openvz
    By admrootlinux in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-31-2008, 03:18 AM
  4. OpenVZ burstable memory
    By SysAdminMan in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-05-2007, 10:36 PM
  5. strange redhat 9 memory problem
    By mdagdelen in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-22-2005, 01:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •