Wow I'm Clueless

I thought I was a pretty knowledgeable guy, but a week of reading these forums has taught me how truly clueless I am. Here's my situation, and I'd really appreciate some patient guidance.

I've got about 40 domain names, 10 or so of which are used for active websites and the others mostly gather dust. I've been using VDS hosting for nearly 15 years, but I'd like to join the grown-up world and have my own VPS. I figured I'd use a trash domain name to learn my way around and then migrate everything once I get the hang of it.

I want to be able to:
    - host multiple websites on multiple domains (obviously).
    - including POP e-mail access
    - host a few Wordpress blogs (with the pre-requisite SQL backend)
    - host a couple of phpbb discussion forums (SQL again)
    - host a minecraft server
    - maybe host a MUD just for fun
    - learn what the hell I'm doing in a VPS environment
    - I'm in Atlanta, and nearly everyone who pings my sites is in the US

So, I have a ton of questions:
    - Do I need LAMP?

- Do I need cPanel? What all will it let me do?

- Which OS? I haven't really found a clear comparison. CentOS seems really common, but I know nothing about it.

- If I go with "managed" does that mean I have less control? Do I still have root access?

- Holy cow there are a lot of hosts, and I can't tell one from the other. Is there an option for my, admittedly low-bandwidth, needs in the $20-$30/month range (if I need cPanel)?

- What other questions should I be asking?

Thanks very much for your time and help.

Hello, you don't need cPanel, but it might make hosting all those sites easier.

Using the VPS for websites and minecraft might not be all that advisable.

CentOS is a good choice and is very common.
    Managed doesn't mean you lose any control; it just means you have someone to help you with managment issues if you require help.

There are many US providers available if that's where your visitors are coming from.

Regards