Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

BurstNET Experience - Wasted Time and Money

Signed up for BurstNET VPS service about a week ago, and ended up asking for refund (and not getting, heading to Paypal). I don't know if the performance issues I faced with them affect others hosting there, but I guess I have to post for others to beware, or alternatively, to convince me that I am wrong and there are no issues and that's how it's supposed to work (final BurstNET's response).

I am not a newbie when it comes to VPS, and I have been operating 5 VPS servers for a few years now: 1x Servint, 1x WiredTree and 3xLinode.

About a week ago I was looking for a home for a pretty busy website which needs to serve about 2-3M pageviews monthly. I should have sticked to my winners (WiredTree or Linode), but I believe in diversification, and was tempted to give a try to a low-budget VPS provider. Picked BurstNET. Signed up for a Premium VPS plan #4 which is supposed to be a pretty powerful machine with 4GHz CPU, 2.5GB RAM (burstable to 5GB), etc, and "premium" at BurstNET means 50% less user on the node. So far so good.

And then the troubles started.

PERFORMANCE
    -----------
    After I got my VPS and started to apply Ubuntu security patches I noticed that the server is hell slow. So I ran the UnixBench benchmarking tool to quantify the performance. I did it in parallel on BurstNET and my California Linode768 (that's the slowest VPS I have with 768MB RAM and much lower specs in general than the one I ordered from BurstNET). The UnixBench tool on BurstNET ran about 8x slower and took many many hours to complete.