Upgrade from Powweb... MDDHosting? Someone else?

I've been doing web sites since the 1990's, I have used several shared hosts and have been happy with Powweb for almost a decade now.

That will likely end in a few days as I'm being told that my forums are eating up more than the allowed "amount of databases queries" according to the notice I got.

So after not having been in the market for ages, it feels all new again to me and I'm trying to verify a good host for our needs. We are a large static website with mostly pictures and non-dynamic pages. We do have a isolated phpbb forum with 600 members, but only 30-40 active in a given day. Its not a hugely demanding site, but I guess it has grown to outstrip what Powweb allows.

I have been looking all around and trying to find a good host for this. MDDHosting has caught my attention with their Basic "Semi-Dedicated" plan, although it doesn't seem to get the attention or discounts that their other offerings do. I toyed with doing VPS, but I will be honest that I want something simple with basic FTP and also a easy way to get a phpbb forum up and going.

Cost and being large enough to support the forums are my main concern. Is MDDHosting with Semi-dedicated right for me? Or is there something else I should be eying? Thanks in advance for any help.

How much diskspace/bandwidth do you require? Also what is your budget?
    CrocWeb :: Canadian Web Hosting
    Accelerate your website, maximum performance!
    www.crocweb.com :: Since 2009 (Montreal, Quebec)

Quote Originally Posted by Arbok View Post
    I've been doing web sites since the 1990's, I have used several shared hosts and have been happy with Powweb for almost a decade now.

That will likely end in a few days as I'm being told that my forums are eating up more than the allowed "amount of databases queries" according to the notice I got.