Moving to VPS - stick with same host?

I'm a web developer for a small company and we currently use shared hosting on a Windows server. I'm growing very dissatisfied with our current hosting company because of the "time-to-first-byte" on the web server that our site is located on. Sometimes pages take up to 1 minute to load and I've ran tests to verify that this is not the fault of my ASP classic scripting.

I'm not going to say who our current hosting company is but I will say that it's not one of the big ones like GoDaddy, 1and1, or Network Solutions. It's more of a medium-sized company with really good US-based support. If you provide hosting services, just assume that I'm talking about your company.

I have not yet complained to the hosting company about the performance issues. My experience so far with hosting companies indicates that they are going to A) blame my code B) dodge my complaint through some other method C) never take the issue seriously.

So I'm thinking that we'll just move to a Virtual Private Server plan because we do plan to run multiple websites and expand our current website with more features. We may also opt to use a CMS so we'd like to make sure our website always performs fairly quickly as we grow. I'm finding that $60 per month is a fairly standard rate for about 1 or 1.5 GB or RAM and about 80GB of hard disk space. This should be more than enough unless our SQL database needs outgrow the memory.

But here's another thought I've been having. Why would I pay for VPS at a company that has let me down in only a few months on their shared hosting? I do admit that in almost all other issues their technical support has been above average but I don't have much confidence that they are going to take my complaints about performance seriously. Should I call in and complain and see if they take the complaint seriously? Should I cross my fingers and move our site to a VPS? Or should I look for yet another hosting company?