Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006

    INNO DB Question

    I converted several tables to INNO DB and there is a strange thing when it shows the number of records.
    Each of the tables has the ~ before the number of records.
    ie, this example;

    en_products ~480,046

    Also, If I refresh the PHPMyAdmin I notice that all 4 INNO DB Tables change their actual values. I can hit refresh multiple times and the number of records literally shows a different number with each refresh.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    That means the result you see is an approximation, which is a number determined by phpMyAdmin very fast, without scanning the table itself.

    If you wish to see the exact number, you need to run something like this: SELECT COUNT(*) FROM table_name;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    It's an estimation.

    Edit: I was too slow.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    So this isn't bad then. I notice my DB is very very fast now but the numbers had me worried.

  5. #5
    Being MVCC at any given time the answer could be one of a bunch of different numbers anyways.. COUNT() or not.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    As the others have stated, this is completely normal.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    excellent thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Inno or UK2 - which company
    By BenReado in forum Reseller Hosting
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 03:56 PM
  2. INNO DNS problem
    By Mondeo in forum Providers and Network Outages and Updates
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-26-2008, 07:32 AM
  3. big thanks to inno
    By dangermouse99 in forum Reseller Hosting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-22-2007, 02:13 AM
  4. Inno Setup Script
    By kaleshnikov in forum Other Offers & Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-13-2005, 06:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts