Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Is it just me or has SL/100TB become FDC...

    It seems to me like their network is now FDC equivalent and there seems to be a lot of null routing involved lately due to using "too much bandwidth" when in fact people haven't used half their allowed bandwidth.

    Why is 100TB.com selling 100TB and then SL is d/c the customer's servers. To me, this doesn't seem right.

    Would like an explanation from their staff here.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    WebHostingTalk
    Posts
    8,878
    You're going to see isolated issues here and there - I am a customer of 100tb.com and am really happy with the performance I get from my servers there.

    Not sure I understand your question - sounds like you're asking why is 100tb.com reselling Softlayer's servers? I guess the answer is, why not? Their network is great, their hardware is great.
    I support the Human Rights Campaign!
    Moving to the Tampa, Florida area? Check out life in the suburbs in Trinity, Florida.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    2,370
    I would agree with sirius. We have several servers at 100tb/SL and haven't faced any such issues so far.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8,910
    Hah! Comparing SoftLayer to FDC is like comparing Beverly Hills to Compton or some other equally run down ghetto. The two companies are extremely different, for example FDC goes for quantity and are able to offer such low prices by not having UPS's and god knows what else, whereas SoftLayer offers high quality bandwidth + the infrastructure and you pay accordingly. Just because you're being nullrouted by SoftLayer, does not in any way shape or form put them into the same league as FDC...

  5. #5
    Sorry for the confusion with this. Didn't mean to down talk SL or 100tb. You may close this ticket.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,320
    Quote Originally Posted by jasdavids22 View Post
    It seems to me like their network is now FDC equivalent and there seems to be a lot of null routing involved lately due to using "too much bandwidth" when in fact people haven't used half their allowed bandwidth.

    Why is 100TB.com selling 100TB and then SL is d/c the customer's servers. To me, this doesn't seem right.

    Would like an explanation from their staff here.
    I have servers with 100TB.com and you can actually use the full 1gbit without issue. I am having issues with another provider offering 100TB but it is not 100TB.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,084
    I thought the question was.. why are some 100TB/Softlayer customers getting throttled down with bandwith.

    Some have been disconnected for running CDN services while staying within their bandwith allocation. While there are lots that are not some have definitely complained about issues that are being called DOS when they are clearly not.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    US
    Posts
    2,502
    There are some hiccups, according to the reviews on this board, due with the TP and SL merge. Hopefully they'll get everything sorted out.

Similar Threads

  1. 100tb vs gigenet and fdc review
    By nero16 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-19-2011, 04:17 AM
  2. 100TB vs FDC to ISPs
    By jasdavids22 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 12:12 PM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 09:39 AM
  4. FDC or 100tb
    By vivalaf in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-06-2011, 07:09 AM
  5. Replies: 29
    Last Post: 01-06-2011, 08:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •