Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1

    Arrow Server load Details

    On my VPS virtuozzo is installed.
    And in Virtuozzo CPanel showing... using 15% CPU and 22% Memory. Approx 15GB disc space is free too.

    but server load is 5+


    so, please tell me, my node is the culprit or some other user creating the problem which showing high CPU load at my end.

  2. #2
    try to break down the usages of the CPU on the server , that will give you exact stats of the things.
    || Eminds Infotech || 9th Year of Server Management Solutions ||
    || Server Management || 24x7 Technical Support || Cloud Management ||
    || 24x7 Live Chat Support || VPS Management || Server Migrations ||
    || https://www.24x7cloudservermanagement.com||

  3. #3
    In WHM showing... 4.45 5.65 7.45

    is this breakdown u r talking about?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    593
    Possible that the vps is overloaded.
    Check #top and see what the cpu wait avg is.
    Also do a disk io test.

  5. #5
    #top showing the almost same values as WHM

    And ps.txt showing almost all CPU values 0.0, 0.1 and maximum 1.5


    So, top showing my node values or full server load?

  6. #6
    these are result of mysqltuner for my.cnf


    [OK] Slow queries: 0% (25/376K)
    [OK] Highest usage of available connections: 27% (29/105)
    [OK] Key buffer size / total MyISAM indexes: 617.0M/276.0M
    [OK] Key buffer hit rate: 99.5% (1M cached / 7K reads)
    [OK] Query cache efficiency: 76.3% (137K cached / 180K selects)
    [OK] Query cache prunes per day: 0
    [OK] Sorts requiring temporary tables: 0% (30 temp sorts / 8K sorts)
    [OK] Temporary tables created on disk: 7% (169 on disk / 2K total)
    [OK] Thread cache hit rate: 99% (29 created / 34K connections)
    [OK] Table cache hit rate: 99% (610 open / 616 opened)
    [OK] Open file limit used: 69% (1K/1K)
    [OK] Table locks acquired immediately: 98% (93K immediate / 94K locks)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    7,200
    Please paste the top portion of 'top' specifically the wait avg.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Orien View Post
    Please paste the top portion of 'top' specifically the wait avg.
    at this time server load is very less and here are top details.



    top - 17:49:26 up 4 days, 3:42, 1 user, load average: 0.62, 0.86, 1.16
    Tasks: 84 total, 1 running, 83 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 0.0%us, 0.3%sy, 0.5%ni, 99.0%id, 0.1%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.0%si, 0.0%st
    Mem: 2097152k total, 358992k used, 1738160k free, 0k buffers
    Swap: 0k total, 0k used, 0k free, 0k cached

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    7,200
    It's quite possible that when your load is skyrocketing even though you have minimal CPU usage that your disk io is high so next time when this happens, check the %wa value.

  10. #10
    when server load is high here are the details...

    r b swpd free buff cache si so bi bo in cs us sy id wa st
    4 0 0 1705840 0 0 0 0 62 6 0 2 4 2 92 2 0

    I think wa is here 2, so how this can be reduced?

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by ashras99 View Post
    when server load is high here are the details...

    r b swpd free buff cache si so bi bo in cs us sy id wa st
    4 0 0 1705840 0 0 0 0 62 6 0 2 4 2 92 2 0

    I think wa is here 2, so how this can be reduced?
    Whats the output of "cat /proc/cpuinfo" ?

    May the I/O is fine but the CPU is most likely being throttled
    Fast & Reliable Unmanaged VPS w/SolusVM ★★ Sandy Bridge E3-1270 @ 3.40Ghz pr Core
    OpenVZ | XEN | KVM | VPS Reseller Hosting Program | Semi-managed VPS
    Manchester, UK | Fremont, US | Falkenstein, DE | Native IPv6 | OpenVZ w/VSwap | TUN/PPTP Enabled
    www.nordicvps.com/wht

  12. #12
    this is the output... and similar for 7 more processors


    processor : 0
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 6
    model : 15
    model name : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5355 @ 2.66GHz
    stepping : 11
    cpu MHz : 249.374
    cache size : 4096 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 4
    core id : 0
    cpu cores : 4
    apicid : 0
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 10
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm syscall nx lm constant_tsc pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
    bogomips : 5319.98
    clflush size : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes : 38 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:

  13. #13
    8 cores with 250mhz... hmm... maybe other experts can explain, which one better, 1 core with 2ghz or 8 cores with 250mhz?

  14. #14
    As far as I am aware, which is better depends entirely on what you are doing with it.

    For example, a web server with a high number of hits will create extra threads. Having extra cores means the threads can be running concurrently (at the same time, rather than each taking turns) and so you can handle more hits.

    On the other hand running a single thread application there's almost no point in having more than, say, 2 cores, 1 for the application and 1 for the OS to not become unresponsive during high processing loads.
    Last edited by JimpHost; 04-12-2011 at 06:05 AM.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by ashras99 View Post
    this is the output... and similar for 7 more processors


    processor : 0
    vendor_id : GenuineIntel
    cpu family : 6
    model : 15
    model name : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5355 @ 2.66GHz
    stepping : 11
    cpu MHz : 249.374
    cache size : 4096 KB
    physical id : 0
    siblings : 4
    core id : 0
    cpu cores : 4
    apicid : 0
    fpu : yes
    fpu_exception : yes
    cpuid level : 10
    wp : yes
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm syscall nx lm constant_tsc pni monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
    bogomips : 5319.98
    clflush size : 64
    cache_alignment : 64
    address sizes : 38 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:
    Your CPU is clearly being crippled by the host

    250 MHz wont take you nowhere, either get them to provide you 1 -2 cores at full speed 2.66GHz / 2660 MHz or consider moving away, you can find a host that provides better CPU ratio

    Edit: Even if they offer a Triple-Double offer and ask you to upgrade to a bigger package, you should demand atleast one full CPU core or move
    Last edited by HUGOBLUE; 04-12-2011 at 10:47 AM.

  16. #16
    i talked to them and they said "unfortunately we cannot do that because virtuozzo does not support it.."

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Posts
    1,170
    I was going to say this was hostrail, but it can't be hostrail since their VPS's come with HyperVM.

    However they do a similar thing my hostrail VPS looks clearly messy in terms of CPU allocation.

    0.8Ghz split in 8 cores making it roughly 0.1ghz per core.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by ashras99 View Post
    i talked to them and they said "unfortunately we cannot do that because virtuozzo does not support it.."
    Whats your VPS requirement?

    I am sure you can find another similar VPS package offering better performance

  19. #19
    I need 2GB RAM, 1500GB Bandwidth and 100GB Disk space.

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by ashras99 View Post
    at this time server load is very less and here are top details.
    Your output is the CPU aggregate...probably would be more informative if you hit "1" in top first, so that the CPUs are broken out.

    For example, here's the output from a VPS after running "top" and hitting "1". Note the CPU split out. I don't think think this is is available in top's -b batch mode unfortunately.

    Code:
    Tasks: 101 total,   1 running, 100 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
    Cpu0  :  0.2%us,  0.2%sy,  0.0%ni, 99.5%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Cpu1  :  0.1%us,  0.2%sy,  0.0%ni, 99.7%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Cpu2  :  0.1%us,  0.3%sy,  0.0%ni, 99.6%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Cpu3  :  0.1%us,  0.3%sy,  0.0%ni, 99.6%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Mem:    509868k total,   434696k used,    75172k free,    19876k buffers
    Swap:   262140k total,     3652k used,   258488k free,   105088k cached

  21. #21
    here it is

    Code:
    top - 14:09:13 up 5 days, 1 min,  1 user,  load average: 2.55, 2.60, 2.79
    Tasks: 125 total,   1 running, 122 sleeping,   0 stopped,   2 zombie
    Cpu0  :  0.0%us,  4.0%sy,  7.5%ni, 87.5%id,  1.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Cpu1  :  0.0%us,  9.0%sy, 20.4%ni, 70.2%id,  0.3%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Cpu2  :  0.0%us,  3.3%sy,  6.7%ni, 88.7%id,  1.3%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Cpu3  :  0.0%us,  1.9%sy,  3.0%ni, 95.1%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Cpu4  :  0.0%us,  0.4%sy,  0.4%ni, 99.3%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Cpu5  :  0.3%us,  0.3%sy,  0.0%ni, 99.0%id,  0.3%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Cpu6  :  0.0%us,  0.3%sy,  1.0%ni, 98.3%id,  0.3%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Cpu7  :  0.0%us,  0.7%sy,  1.7%ni, 97.7%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.0%st
    Mem:   2097152k total,   381076k used,  1716076k free,        0k buffers
    Swap:        0k total,        0k used,        0k free,        0k cached

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    4
    Try to install htop and look what is the most execution file or process.
    Also you can run ps auxf when servers is overloud and view whit process is the most execution.

    Try this and tell us the results.

Similar Threads

  1. What is the ideal CPU Load for L5410x2 CPU?
    By arda000 in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 01:56 PM
  2. How do I find out CPU details of my server?
    By The_Big_K in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-02-2009, 09:58 AM
  3. Can someone explain the difference Server load & CPU load?
    By messa in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-08-2006, 03:23 PM
  4. my sever is very slow :( cpu load be 4.72 (1 cpu)
    By Yong in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 08-31-2003, 05:18 PM
  5. Get Load Average, Ping, CPU load, etc. by using PHP
    By Milos in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-03-2002, 10:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •