help me choose cloud host for my needs plz

hello, i posted the below in anothr thread for VPS service, and the answeres were very helpful and informative, but didnt give host choices, plz suggest someone for my needs and price range.

I tried several shared hosts (Ipage and Bluehost..) with very bad results, Constant crashes of their cruddy servers and terrible tech support. i have a new, but growing blog (mostly photos and embedded entertainment videos, with only 5k unique views a day, but thats partly because of the daily crashes) that i Need a reliable VPS host for. Please give me an honest recommendation for an affordable reliable host that i should look at. cost is an issue currently but most important is no downtime and good tech support (as im new to administering a site) Thanks in advance for your suggestions and any advice. have a good day

Hello,

VPS and Cloud Servers are definitely a different category of hosting from your current shared hosting arrangement. As I imagine you're aware, it's a private environment not shared with any other customers.

So you may wish to look at a host that includes Full Management (and be careful that it is true full management, not semi-managed with fancy marketing. You want a host that will setup, maintain, and administrative your server as it was their own. They'll install PHP modules, perform security hardening and optimizations, and various other tasks and pretty much whatever you ask for. Think of it as your outsourced server administrator). Otherwise, as you mentioned cost is a concern it can grow rather expensive being fully managed for a more boutique style host that charges a-la-carte and takes a more hands on approach to management. Many providers charge $100/mo+ just for the management so when taking the first step into this realm of hosting it may prove beneficial to go for the host that includes it in their base price already.