Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Dedicated Server Providers - How do they do it?

    I can't quite understand.
    Companies like 100tb.com say they can get your server up within xx hours right? But they offer all the configurations on HDD/RAM

    So, do they hold the servers at an office or such and when a order comes in they configure it then take it to the datacenter?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    2,193
    I'm sure a company like that has a large stock of the base models at the datacenter already, and it's not hard to keep a bunch of RAM and drives around.
    Sam Barrow - CEO @ SQUIDIX (1-855-SQUIDIX)
    Ask Us About Sponsoring Your Web Site (High Traffic Sites Only)
    Squidix - Shared, Reseller, Semi-Dedicated, Managed VPS and Managed Dedicated Hosting
    Midwestern Web - Web Design & Development Services

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,523
    Servers usually get deployed in bulk. First racks get precabled, switches and KVM units are added and then all the servers go in there - filling the rack. Attached a few pictures how a new rack deployment looks like.
    Some inside info:
    Every server has a unique server / service ID that allows us to track it easy. Servers and equiptment is also tagged with a barcode, allowing for the onsite engineers to fast get information about the device (model, make, os, service history)
    Every suite in this datacenter has 12 to 15 rows of racks, every row has 20 racks and we number switches, STS, APC and KVM units by suite, row, device number. So Suite 1A-R(row)B-HP switch 11 or Suite 3A-RF-KVM7 and we shorten that on the labels itself, as the location is evident for the engineers. All cables are labelled on both ends for easy tracking and every colour of cable has another function (green KVM to KVM, blue external net, yellow KVM/IP to server, white internal net, black enduser internal net and more.. every function its own colour)
    So to answer your question: you need to organise it really tight to keep track of servers once you reach a certain scale. Best is, to set protocols up from the start and organise everything very strict.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DSC01375.jpg   DSC01356.jpg   DSC01378.jpg  
    Last edited by swiftnoc; 04-08-2011 at 06:45 AM.
    Swiftway.net Your Business deserves our Quality - Experts on Hand since 2005. Europe & US locations, we operate our own network AS35017
    Unbeatable dedicated bandwidth deals for Dedicated servers ! Support response time <15 minutes 24/7

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,523
    In addition:
    Pictures are not very neatly taken, but these are done just for internal checks by the supervisor - so actually not made for release to the public, but i think some photomaterial helps to visualize how deployments go.
    Swiftway.net Your Business deserves our Quality - Experts on Hand since 2005. Europe & US locations, we operate our own network AS35017
    Unbeatable dedicated bandwidth deals for Dedicated servers ! Support response time <15 minutes 24/7

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    100tb uses SoftLayer for their servers (at least for US), so the hardware inventory is managed by them. I am pretty certain that SoftLayer racks their servers, etc. in advance as well.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    300
    Quote Originally Posted by swiftnoc View Post
    Servers usually get deployed in bulk. First racks get precabled, switches and KVM units are added and then all the servers go in there - filling the rack. Attached a few pictures how a new rack deployment looks like.
    Some inside info:
    Every server has a unique server / service ID that allows us to track it easy. Servers and equiptment is also tagged with a barcode, allowing for the onsite engineers to fast get information about the device (model, make, os, service history)
    Every suite in this datacenter has 12 to 15 rows of racks, every row has 20 racks and we number switches, STS, APC and KVM units by suite, row, device number. So Suite 1A-R(row)B-HP switch 11 or Suite 3A-RF-KVM7 and we shorten that on the labels itself, as the location is evident for the engineers. All cables are labelled on both ends for easy tracking and every colour of cable has another function (green KVM to KVM, blue external net, yellow KVM/IP to server, white internal net, black enduser internal net and more.. every function its own colour)
    So to answer your question: you need to organise it really tight to keep track of servers once you reach a certain scale. Best is, to set protocols up from the start and organise everything very strict.
    Do you have a recommendation of barcode software?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    3,523
    Quote Originally Posted by elektrica View Post
    Do you have a recommendation of barcode software?
    We created our own software - as we also have a company that develops and sells POS/RMS software, that was the most logical step for us.
    Swiftway.net Your Business deserves our Quality - Experts on Hand since 2005. Europe & US locations, we operate our own network AS35017
    Unbeatable dedicated bandwidth deals for Dedicated servers ! Support response time <15 minutes 24/7

Similar Threads

  1. What R the 3 BEST dedicated Server providers
    By spastic in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-30-2006, 11:06 PM
  2. Dedicated Server Providers?
    By Ricjustsaid in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-15-2005, 10:25 PM
  3. Dedicated server providers
    By Wapture in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-28-2004, 01:02 PM
  4. dedicated server providers...
    By zerosix in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-01-2004, 01:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •