Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Setting up a reseller account - how to configure?

    Hello everyone,

    I recently bought a domain at namecheap that Im going to use with a reseller account. After that I bought a reseller at a company that I wont name here. Now, because I didnt buy a domain with them, it was not set up automatically. I have a basic idea of what needs to be done, but I opened a couple of tickets and always got half-arsed responses in chunks. Its like they dont even read the questions.

    I need to: set up my private nameservers and set up the nameservers of the actual domain.

    Now, I registered ns1 and ns2.mydomain.com to the same IPs as the company nameservers (ns1.company.com IP = ns1.mydomain.com IP).

    After that I set up the nameservers of mydomain.com to point to ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com. I am aware that it can take up to 3 days for these settings to update.

    In the WHM I dont see any zone records, but I guess that Im not supposed to see those for my main domain anyway.

    Are there _ANY_ other settings that need to be setup for this to work? I can give my domain name and company via PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    406
    You've done everything required to set up a reseller. You can now set up your billing software and other stuff. If you have any questions you can <<ask in the forum>>
    Last edited by bear; 04-07-2011 at 04:29 PM.
    Sajid Iftekhar - Web Design Portfolio

  3. #3
    Thank you very much.

    At first I bought a dedicated IP, but decided I dont need it. I wasnt sure what the settings needed to be for my own nsX.domain.com so I changed those a few times - thats why my domain is still unavailable. I guess I just need to wait out those 3 days and hope its all ok. If I have any trouble, I will PM you. Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    MY & UK
    Posts
    264
    Open a ticket at your host, I think they can help you or at least guide you how to do.
    [Hostegic] [Features: Softaculous | RvSitebuilder | R1Soft backups | LiteSpeed | Cloudlinux | CloudFlare]
    [Location: UK] [Platforms: Linux - cPanel | Windows - WebsitePanel/Plesk]
    [Solutions: Shared Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Virtual Private Servers - Xen/OpenVZ]
    [Guarantees: 24/7 Helpdesk Support | 99.9% Uptime Guarantee | 30 Days Money Back Guarantee]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    295
    You can not get even basic support from you current host and you are sure !! to receive support, in the times of critical issues ??
    █ l Host Monsterz Pvt Ltd • Superb Support Network • DES 64 bit Secured Network
    l Linux Shared/Reseller Hosting • Virtual Server • Dedicated Server • cPanelฎ
    █ l Nginx • Softaculous • Fantastico • RVSite Builder • WHMCS • 24x7 Available Server Admin
    l Premium Managed VPS • Reliable & Sustainable • Instant Setup • Raid Drives

  6. #6
    Well, I got what I paid for. Just bought them for 1 month to try, and planning to move later.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,882
    Out of curiosity, why don't you present these questions to your provider? They should be able to help you with these
    XeHost.net - Hosting websites since 1999!
    Shared Hosting, Cloud Hosting, Reseller Hosting, VPS Hosting, and Dedicated Servers
    End-User Support, WHMCS, and WHMReseller Available on Reseller Plans!
    Follow us on Twitter - new special every Sunday! @XeHost

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    LAX, DAL, MIA, ATL, ORD
    Posts
    8,982
    Everything sounds good that you have done.

    You can always check here www.intodns.com to view if its pointing over correctly.

    Let us know if you have any other questions.

  9. #9
    Well, I tried, but every response is very short and not clear enough. I basically have to ask one question 10 times to get all the info I need. If I ask more than one question in a ticket, I get a reply for only one of them. Cant even get a straight answer for a yes/no question. Its a real pain, and its not some random host - they are active in the forums, but I do not wish to point fingers.

    And I'm not a complete begginer here, I have basic understanding of networks, been programming for 10 years now, 3 years for web etc. so I know enough to be able to make some basic setting when someone explains it properly.
    Last edited by dejangex; 04-07-2011 at 02:35 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. hel in a script to configure WHM setting through shell ..!!!
    By HuMan-BiEnG in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-13-2010, 06:35 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-07-2004, 08:45 AM
  3. Setting Up Reseller Account
    By Montage Inc in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2002, 11:34 PM
  4. WHT special: Configure your own reseller account
    By nozol in forum Shared Hosting Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-13-2002, 12:39 PM
  5. Setting up reseller account
    By Skeptical in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-14-2002, 04:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •