Dreamhost...a 5-year review

Wow, has it been 5 years since I signed up with Dreamhost?

Yep, March 2006.

In that time I've hosted a couple dozen web sites. Honestly, nothing very major. I'm sure I've been a profit to them. I have one site that runs a nonprofit and serves about 30GB a month. The rest are no more than 1-2GB a month - mostly blogs, photo galleries for friends/families, little web projects I spin up, etc. I only use their shared hosting. Their current plan is $8.95/month.

I should state that I'm a former senior unix admin and work as an Oracle/MySQL DBA, with a background in PHP, so I am probably more educated on running a web site than the typical customer.

Pro: Nice Web Panel

DH's web panel is their own creation and I've found it pleasant to work with. Generally things are very fast. Adding a MySQL database or something like that is generally instant. They have a variety of one-click installs (MediaWiki, phpBB, etc.) and those take 5-10 minutes at most.

I find managing things with DH really easy. Register a domain, host it, add a MySQL DB or install something, manage DNS, etc. I think this is one of the things I like about DH the best - it really is easy to manage things.

For example, you can use webmail with any of your domains, though DH encourages you to host on GMail. One click and they set up all the appropriate MX records for you, they have links on how to setup, etc. This isn't rocket science but it just makes getting things done quick.

I like the one-click installs for setting up things, particularly because you can set it to update the software automatically. The only con is that new installs get backed up when a big release of a popular package (e.g., WP) comes out. I had to wait 24 hours once for a one-click deployment when WP 3.0 came out because their boxes were busy do mass updates. That was one time in five years, though.

Pro: Add-Ons