Launching first web application. Can't decide on hosting needs.

I am ready to launch my first web application and have been trying to decide which hosting company to sign up with. I have been doing research for the last few days and there is so much information out there, I'm finding it hard to make decisions. I figured this community might be able to point me in the right direction. I'm a programmer with limited networking knowledge. I have setup in-house windows servers(at former employers) but my knowledge other than that is pretty limited.

I was going to go with a VPS server, but now I've started reading about cloud servers. The thing that really interests me about these cloud servers, is the ability to scale up your performance on the whim. I have no idea what vps package I need for my site because I don't know what kind of numbers to expect. I don't want to sign a contract for a vps that isn't going to meet my needs, and adversely for a vps that is going to be overkill. My site will start small, but has huge potential to grow. I would like to stay away from contracts if at all possible.

My site will be running off of an apache webserver, with a mysql backend. I will need root access, and my own instance of an OS. I will be running a windows server, because my knowledge with Linux isn't quite up to par, and my development is all done in a windows environment. At this point I'm fine with running my db server, and web server off the same instance. If the site ever grew to the point that 1 instance was creating a bottleneck, I would look at splitting the front and back up across different instances/machines.