Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: unmounted disc

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maidenhead/United Kingdom
    Posts
    437

    * unmounted disc

    Hi folks I bought a dedicated server with two discs and since my panel monitors only the gigas of 1 disc I thaught my host didnt give me the second disc on setup,instead he gave me this
    /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB,
    1000204886016 bytes
    but I didnt understand if it was a command of ssh because he said that my server came with two discs but one is unmounted

    First is this typical with dedicated servers? because for me it is like one wing is missing,where is my wing?,no it might be it is my first dedicated server

    If this is common in the dedicated world then can anybody tell me how to mount my other disc via ssh?



    Thank you bfore handed
      0 Not allowed!

  2. #2
    if the 2nd drive doesnt have any data, follow this http://www.cyberciti.biz/faq/linux-disk-format/
      0 Not allowed!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    18
    Do you see the second hard drive when you do : df -h or only via your monitoring service ?

    Which OS you are running ?
      0 Not allowed!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maidenhead/United Kingdom
    Posts
    437
    This is what appeared using df -h command
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda2 903G 739M 902G 1% /
    udev 10M 24K 10M 1% /dev
    devshm 3.9G 0 3.9G 0% /dev/shm
    none 3.9G 0 3.9G 0% /dev/shm

    Is this the command that searches for disc drives on system because here it dont seem much 2 drives
      0 Not allowed!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    18
    and when you do : fdisk -l

    You see the 2 Hard drives ?
      0 Not allowed!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maidenhead/United Kingdom
    Posts
    437
    Im seeing the guide that this guy brought and it says is about formatting,
    is formatting the same than mounting?,however I found this code that could help me find out if is true that there is 2 disc drives in my system:
    # fdisk -l | grep '^Disk
    but I dont know where to find in my keyboard this character:|,do anyone know an easier command to achieve this?
      0 Not allowed!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    18
    It's not a | it's L

    fdisk -l
      0 Not allowed!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maidenhead/United Kingdom
    Posts
    437
    I was talking other command dear marshmallow

    For
    fdisk -l
    I got this

    Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 1926 15470563+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda2 * 1927 121601 961289437+ 83 Linux

    Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    which is little bit annoying

    This command from the guide avobe
    # fdisk -l | grep '^Disk'
    is wrong
    # character dont belong to command
    this is the right way
    fdisk -l | grep '^Disk'
    and this is the way I like it
    the way I love it
    and the way I got this

    Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes

    Thank you girls and lovely boys now that I know I got 2 disc drives on my server Im gonna take a nap
    and hope you can help me to mount the 2nd disc drive once again thank you for reading me and God may
    bless all of you
      0 Not allowed!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    18
    Now you have to format this drive with : fdisk /dev/sdb

    here is a short tuto :
    http://www.idevelopment.info/data/Un...ive_ext3.shtml

    After formating your drive you must mount it as you want and add it to the filesystem to be sure when you will reboot that the drive will be mount again.
      0 Not allowed!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maidenhead/United Kingdom
    Posts
    437
    sure it was needed a reboot,but it is mounted now thereforely I ask moderator to close this thread thanks for the helpers like colo-serv but he didnt bring the commands to mount after format whic he did
      0 Not allowed!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    18
    Depending where you want to mount your second hard drive.

    ex: you want it in /backup

    create a directory /backup and after if your drive is sdb1, do that :

    mount /dev/sdb1/ /backup

    After that you must add 1 line in /etc/fstab :
    /dev/sdb1/ /backup ext3 defaults 0 0

    The line that you add in the fstab is only after a reboot to make sure that your drive will mounted in the good place

    Regards
      0 Not allowed!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Maidenhead/United Kingdom
    Posts
    437
    thank you man please mod close this thread since disc is already mounted
      0 Not allowed!

Similar Threads

  1. Yahoo disc
    By totem in forum Domain Names
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-06-2006, 04:38 PM
  2. Full hard disc???
    By Dj Trinity in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-27-2004, 06:08 PM
  3. Disc Duplicating Business
    By DomiNET.net in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-13-2004, 09:56 AM
  4. Need a new name (Disc Jockey)
    By Carp in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-01-2004, 10:48 PM
  5. Disc Cataloger
    By Tux-e-do in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-03-2002, 11:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •