Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1

    Disable some command

    Hello guys, I just wanted to ask if is possible to disable some commands like "ln -s" or "ln" ???

    because hackers are using it via shells like c99...?

    Cheers,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    297
    enable -n ln

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by asciiDigital View Post
    enable -n ln
    enable -n ln or disable -n ln ???

    and:

    -bash: enable: ln: not a shell builtin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3,807
    how about fixing the c99 issue or the hole letting people upload phpshells instead of trying to block listing directories?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    297
    LMD will report shells like c99:
    http://www.rfxn.com/projects/linux-malware-detect/

  6. #6
    I need to block just that command

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    303
    Quote Originally Posted by quantumphysics View Post
    how about fixing the c99 issue or the hole letting people upload phpshells instead of trying to block listing directories?
    That would make more sense.
    AudioProbe.net - Playing the best music from the 70s, 80s, 90s, 00s, and more...
    Commercial free, high quality 192kb/s, and firewall friendly port 80!
    Look for us in the iTunes Radio directory under Adult Contemporary

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles - CA
    Posts
    789
    Disable dangerouse php function for commmand execution
    HugeServer Neworks, LLC - AS25780
    High Quality / High Bandwidth Servers in Los Angeles and Jacksonville
    Focused on our customer needs ! Quality , Customer Service and Uptime
    [email protected] | 888-842-8570

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    64
    use suhosin and all php shell will not work

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by S4m4N View Post
    Disable dangerouse php function for commmand execution
    That's not very good advice - what about Ruby? CGI? SSH access?

    The biggest thing to do is get the permissions right.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles - CA
    Posts
    789

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by HarrySX View Post
    That's not very good advice - what about Ruby? CGI? SSH access?

    The biggest thing to do is get the permissions right.
    If is it hosting server...
    you don't need to perl/cgi and ssh access,disable them easily!
    use suphp and make it hard,disable follow symlink,set a wisely value for open_basedir....mod_security...
    they would help you
    HugeServer Neworks, LLC - AS25780
    High Quality / High Bandwidth Servers in Los Angeles and Jacksonville
    Focused on our customer needs ! Quality , Customer Service and Uptime
    [email protected] | 888-842-8570

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    132
    Quote Originally Posted by S4m4N View Post
    If is it hosting server...
    you don't need to perl/cgi and ssh access,disable them easily!
    use suphp and make it hard,disable follow symlink,set a wisely value for open_basedir....mod_security...
    they would help you
    ...and if you're taking that advice, disable SuPHP php.ini override. The amount of times web hosts come to me for security advice asking why "hackers" can get past these restrictions when they believe they've locked their servers down is unreal.

    If a server hardening is worth doing, it's worth doing properly.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles - CA
    Posts
    789

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by HarrySX View Post
    ...and if you're taking that advice, disable SuPHP php.ini override. The amount of times web hosts come to me for security advice asking why "hackers" can get past these restrictions when they believe they've locked their servers down is unreal.

    If a server hardening is worth doing, it's worth doing properly.
    really important point - take it serious,
    thank you
    HugeServer Neworks, LLC - AS25780
    High Quality / High Bandwidth Servers in Los Angeles and Jacksonville
    Focused on our customer needs ! Quality , Customer Service and Uptime
    [email protected] | 888-842-8570

  14. #14
    Yeah, but I need just that command disabled, any idea?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    303
    Quote Originally Posted by MacOSX View Post
    Yeah, but I need just that command disabled, any idea?
    You're approaching this problem in the wrong way. Disabling the list command will not fix the problem. Please listen to the advice from the above experts or you will end up breaking your server.
    AudioProbe.net - Playing the best music from the 70s, 80s, 90s, 00s, and more...
    Commercial free, high quality 192kb/s, and firewall friendly port 80!
    Look for us in the iTunes Radio directory under Adult Contemporary

Similar Threads

  1. command to stop the wget command?
    By shippuuden in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 10:18 AM
  2. How to disable some command ???
    By mrcancel in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-28-2007, 12:18 PM
  3. Perl: how to run a command line command from inside perl
    By fozzy in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-28-2005, 11:34 AM
  4. how can i disable [sleep]command in phpmyadmin ?
    By hkivan in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-2004, 09:48 AM
  5. Linux command/script to run a command for every file in a directory tree?
    By civ in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-25-2004, 08:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •