how do you secure reseller hosting?

I am pretty new to this reseller hosting and had a question about security. I got an email stating that a site that I was hosting was a phishing site. the site in question was one that I made and was the only person who knew the login and password for the cpanel or ftp.

how exactly did someone manage to get access to it and change files to setup a phishing site?

more importantly how do I prevent this from happening?

the way I solved this problem was by changing the cpanel password and loading a backup onto the account.

UK: Oxford
    Well, they don't need to gain access to cPanel. Depending on the permissions on files, they can be remotely exploited by a hacking who injects a unique code.

From there, they can run their software to capture key-Strokes, scams whatever..

I would go over your code and check for loops, holes and what ever can be exploited. You should also have break() or exit() in validation codes if it is not correct. Will stop hacking injecting code in the loading session.
    Garbott Ltd - Professional web development & consultancy services
    Oxford.Hosting - Prestigious shared, cloud, dedicated and gaming hosting solutions.

Did you actually see a phishing site on your domain?

Could be a false report, maybe because there was a phishing site on the server that hosts you, and someone assumed you where the source of that site, because you where on the same server, or maybe someone was spoofing your domain in an email.

If your uploading scripts, they can open a whole host of vulnerabilities if they are not written with an understanding of how to make them secure.

It could be all kinds of things it seems who ever is your provider did not update you fully.

Was the account hacked via an outdated script... was it accessed due to the host being unsecured?

Was this clients passwords weak or did this clients home computer get infected?