Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Gilroy CA.
    Posts
    466

    Fedora 14 default gateway network problem.

    This is just plain weird. Running Fedora 14 and set it up with one NIC card and it works great. Route looks like this:

    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    link-local * 255.255.0.0 U 1002 0 0 eth0
    default 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

    However - when I plug in a second NIC card I can't even ping the gateway. And that's without trying to configure anything on eth1. After plugging in the second NIC the route looks like this:

    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 1002 0 0 eth0
    0.0.0.0 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

    What am I missing? Thanks in advance.
    Marc Perkel
    /root
    http://www.junkemailfilter.com
    [email protected]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas Nevada
    Posts
    32
    Is the second nic plugged into the same network?

    Also manual setting route may help.
    route add default gw your gateway.
    Most of the time you want to bond 2 links to the same network for load balancing reasons.

    http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-...interface.html

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Gilroy CA.
    Posts
    466
    I tried that

    route add default gw 192.168.2.1

    SIOCADDRT: File Exists

    Great error code.

    No - the nic cards are not on the same network. I'm trying to create a Linux based router. The second nic card isn't even connected to anything yet.
    Marc Perkel
    /root
    http://www.junkemailfilter.com
    [email protected]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    800
    Check if the NICs aren't switched, that is the new NIC became eth0 and the old one eth1, which is unconfigured... though normally udev makes the eth assignments sticky.

    What does eth-tool tell you? Do you see traffic with tcpdump on either NIC?
    Pings <1 ms, Unlimited Transfer, Lowest Price: http://localhost/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Gilroy CA.
    Posts
    466
    YES - that was it. Thank you. The new card became eth0.
    Marc Perkel
    /root
    http://www.junkemailfilter.com
    [email protected]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas Nevada
    Posts
    32
    I was just going to say that. OR rather check the mac address for a switched interface oh well glad you got it. BEcause if memory serves me fedora does if they are the same model. Don't know why though.

Similar Threads

  1. default gateway
    By NWSTech in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 06:46 AM
  2. Private IP and Default Gateway IP have changed
    By Discusman in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-23-2006, 09:57 PM
  3. Default Gateway
    By Sherby in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2005, 08:21 AM
  4. Simple question re: default gateway on 550
    By MannyT in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-09-2003, 03:30 AM
  5. Default Gateway
    By ZYE in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-20-2002, 11:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •