high power RAM host?

Hello everyone. I was just wondering, when you run a website like (Going down now, I know, sad) or some high database requesting website, what kind of servers are use?
    I know that servers feature 4gb RAM and stuff, but is that enough of a server to run

Reason I ask is because I hope to create something similar to website, but how does one have enough memory for it? Between the website and requesting all that mysql(assuming mysql is used here) requesting . I don't think you can just buy more 16gb ram servers and stick them together can you? What keeps them all constantly synced?

Also, is it enough to have the server be located in one place? Is there some hosting that does spread out hosting where it's not just static content but also mysql data and php pages?

I'm still relatively new to the web hosting so I hope you will all bear with me.

Thank you =)

Ontario, Canada
    Servers can always be upgraded but if you're serious about your service and intend on things taking off you'll have to consider down time at a single point of failure (one server with 16gb for example).

If you fully intend on being successful you should invest properly in an expandable solution where you can add more viable resources in a scaleable environment. I think you'll find a more predictable expense prediction this route. - Gameing discussion, arcade, all around good fun

Minneapolis, MN
    My guess is ran off of many servers, not just one. Whether they took the Google approach and used a ton of low end servers or went high end would probably be quite difficult to find out.

You can definitely have a solution where you just buy more computers and stick them together. That would be a cloud infrastructure, or a cluster.
    Doyle Lewis
    BuyHTTP Internet Services - In business since 2003
    Business Hosting | nginx, CloudLinux, Varnish cache, and CDP with every business account
    Shared, Reseller, Semi Dedicated, VPS, Cloud, Dedicated - We can grow with you