Results 1 to 26 of 26

Thread: OpenVZ Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549

    Wink OpenVZ Problem

    Hi Guys ,,,
    I have a server with OpenVZ on Centos 5.5 + It has few VPSs on the same node....

    I have the below questions:
    1- Should I secure any thing on the node ?
    2- When I create a VPS, the node become un-reachable for a while "15 min" then it back ok ...


    advise plz

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    home
    Posts
    515
    secure ssh, try to use ssh keys, change port if not using ssh keys, make password as complex as possible

    >>2- When I create a VPS, the node become un-reachable for a while "15 min" then it back ok ...

    That shouldnt be happening.. are you using any type of control panel?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    I would definitely be curious on why the node is unreachable for 15 minutes. Is the server rebooting or is it purely the network not being responsive? It sounds like an overloaded server from what your saying.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    sorry for the delay ...
    1- I am using a panel called "SolusVM" -- What do u think about it ?
    2- The node is not restarting -- but it be unreachable via SSH or via the SolusVM panel too ?

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,765
    It definitely sounds like an overloaded server. This has nothing to do with SolusVM. What hardware are you using, and how many VPSs on what spec have you got on there already?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    4 VPSs only + its a Dual Xeon server with 4 GB RAM

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    How does your load look like on the server? Do you see any vps accounts using abnormal amount of ram or cpu?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    No
    in general, load average: 2.26, 2.60, 2.67
    33% Memory usage: 1.17 GB of 3.58 GB Used / 2.42 GB Free

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    That is actually a little bit to high of a load if your planning to still have the ability to create or reinstall a vps. You should normally be able to get more then 4 vps accounts on a dual core machine, but it sounds like you have someone abusing the system or your vps accounts are poorly configured.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    Can you advise in details and steps to check the issue ... plz

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Type vzlist -a and copy/paste results.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    [[email protected]~]# vzlist -a
    CTID NPROC STATUS IP_ADDR HOSTNAME
    101 113 running xx.xx.xx.xx v1.something.com
    105 66 running xx.xx.xx.xx v2.something.com
    106 18 running xx.xx.xx.xx v3.something.com
    107 - stopped xx.xx.xx.xx v4.something.com
    108 124 running xx.xx.xx.xx v5.something.com
    [[email protected]~]#

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by PogiWeb View Post
    That is actually a little bit to high of a load if your planning to still have the ability to create or reinstall a vps. You should normally be able to get more then 4 vps accounts on a dual core machine, but it sounds like you have someone abusing the system or your vps accounts are poorly configured.
    Hardly, Its quite low for a vps node.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    Hardly, Its quite low for a vps node.
    Back when I used to sell VPS's for various companies, I kept loads under 1.5.. usually under 0.5.. I was never a fan of overselling, really.
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    7,200
    Quote Originally Posted by Dougy View Post
    Back when I used to sell VPS's for various companies, I kept loads under 1.5.. usually under 0.5.. I was never a fan of overselling, really.
    What CPU config did these nodes have?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    6,456
    Quote Originally Posted by Orien View Post
    What CPU config did these nodes have?
    I never put VM's on less then a quad core.
    simplywww: directadmin and cpanel hosting that will rock your socks
    Need some work done in a datacenter in the NYC area? NYC Remote Hands can do it.

    Follow my "deals" Twitter for hardware specials.. @dougysdeals

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Quote Originally Posted by FirstNetServ View Post
    Hardly, Its quite low for a vps node.
    If you have two cores the load shouldn't be more than 2.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Quote Originally Posted by Lost Eagle View Post
    [[email protected]~]# vzlist -a
    CTID NPROC STATUS IP_ADDR HOSTNAME
    101 113 running xx.xx.xx.xx v1.something.com
    105 66 running xx.xx.xx.xx v2.something.com
    106 18 running xx.xx.xx.xx v3.something.com
    107 - stopped xx.xx.xx.xx v4.something.com
    108 124 running xx.xx.xx.xx v5.something.com
    [[email protected]~]#
    I would investigate container 101 and 108. The process count isn't extremly high but running that command can at times show a vps that is using a lot of resources.

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by Dougy View Post
    I never put VM's on less then a quad core.
    load average is relative to the number of cpu (cores) you have, thus a load average of 4 on a quad core machine is fully loaded and a load of 0.5 on a quad core is ~13% loaded

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    what do u mean by a CPU configs ?
    wiuld some body advise in steps ... ?

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Quote Originally Posted by nwmcsween View Post
    load average is relative to the number of cpu (cores) you have, thus a load average of 4 on a quad core machine is fully loaded and a load of 0.5 on a quad core is ~13% loaded
    I don't see where Dougy was questioning that fact.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    GUYS ... No body is giving a solution here ...
    Don't U use openVZ ? Have n't U face a such cases ?

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Quote Originally Posted by Lost Eagle View Post
    GUYS ... No body is giving a solution here ...
    Don't U use openVZ ? Have n't U face a such cases ?
    Your asking people to troubleshoot a server that we can't see for free? I'm sorry but giving a solution is very difficult under these circumstances. I would suggest that you hire a server admin to investigate this for you.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    My Friend ...
    My problem is that the 4 VPSs load is normal .. not of them is more than "2"

    so, I don't know what to check exactly ...
    advise

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    3,911
    Quote Originally Posted by Lost Eagle View Post
    My Friend ...
    My problem is that the 4 VPSs load is normal .. not of them is more than "2"

    so, I don't know what to check exactly ...
    advise
    Quote Originally Posted by Lost Eagle View Post
    in general, load average: 2.26, 2.60, 2.67
    You originally stated that your node load average was about 2. If your using more then 2 cores that is kind of high. If you were to rebuilt or build a vps you could experience moments of not being able to access your server. What you need to do is examine the top log for programs eating up your cpu. If the process can be killed, then go ahead and kill the process. This is all basic server admin work and not a issue related to OpenVZ itself. Yes, you can make changes to your OpenVZ VPS accounts to use less ram, cpu, and etc which could help in your situation.

    Back to my original point its hard to tell you what to do EXACTLY without knowing the full scope of what is going on.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Close 2 U
    Posts
    549
    Thanks Guys ... Thanks "PogiWeb"

    I will try to check deeply then may back to U ...

    Not as that Much Expert
    I'm just a "LostEagle"
    _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_

Similar Threads

  1. OpenVZ problem
    By The Calling in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2010, 02:27 AM
  2. openvz IP problem
    By OWtaru in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-18-2010, 10:34 AM
  3. Problem with OpenVZ
    By ipap in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 02:33 AM
  4. Please Help: HyperVM+OpenVZ, IP Problem.
    By AstroNyu in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 04-19-2010, 12:47 AM
  5. Problem in VPS with openVZ
    By pjssms in forum Systems Management Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-04-2007, 02:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •