Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1

    Q9550 vs i7 2600??


    Q9550 2.83GHz 4 Cores + 8G Ram + Sata Disk
    i7 2600 3.4GHz 4 Cores(+ HT) + 8G Ram + Sata Disk

    please advice which is more good? I will install xen and install 3-4 vps.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    The i7 2600 will be much, much faster than the Q9550. :]
    Patrick William | RACK911 Labs | Software Security Auditing
    400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ - Security notices for the hosting community.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Dallas, TX

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
    The i7 2600 will be much, much faster than the Q9550. :]

    Q9550 are low budget 'servers'

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    New York, NY
    The i7 2600 CPU is certainly much faster, but as Jose mentioned, this is only going to matter if CPU is the bottleneck on your machine. Chances are you would get more out of a better disk setup than a better CPU.

    Quote Originally Posted by HostAtom View Post

    Q9550 are low budget 'servers'
    I don't know if I'd classify the Q9550 as necessarily low-budget. It's certainly not a slow CPU by any means, and would work just fine for many performance intensive requirements. As far as whether this can be considered a 'server' - both of these processors are technically intended for desktop usage (though they do fine in the server environment).
    MediaLayer, LLC - Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  6. #6
    I paid $1499 for a Q9550 (8G Ram+Cpanel). Now they have a i7 2600 ($1199 yearly,not including cpanel). I am considering whether moving to 2600.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    The i7 2600 scored 8892.
    The C2Q 9550 scored 4050.


    I know there's some difference of opinion about but I still think there would be a noticeable performance increase over the 9550 if you went with the 2600. As mentioned by Jose though, you should really add some more disks if you can afford it.

  8. #8
    I begin to use the Q9550 (8G Ram+750 Sata Disk) from Feb 1st 2011, their monthly price is $199. yearly price is $1499. Now I plan to move to their i7 2600. but they want to charge $199*3, then my left money is $1499-$597=902.

    If I want to move 2600, I need to pay $1199-$902=$297 for moving (not including cpanel). then I can use the 2600 from Apr 2011 - the end of Apr 2012.

    I just feel it's not reasonable.

  9. #9
    I only use the Q9550 for 2 months (Feb,Mar). I think it's reasonable to only charge 2 months ($199*2). they charge 3 months and they say it's too late to upgrade because now it's the end of March. I only use 2 months, but they charge 3 months of money. I just can't accept this.

    I am doubting whether is worth moving to the 2600. anybody have some suggest?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    L.A., CA

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Exactly. Only move if CPU load is out of control.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Kasultanan Ngayogyakarta
    worth if you're using the server for (example) game server or video/tube. just take a look add graphics specifications. and as JoseQ mentioned, the spec is look like putting Ferrari machine to motorcycle. -- i7 is Ferrari and SATA disk is motorcycle (or bicycle? :p )
    Carstensz Pyramid Server
    ...:::::: KVM |||| VPS ::::::...

  13. #13
    Definitely i7, it has a greater clockspeed.
    Check up some performance index.
    Softaculous - Auto Installer for cPanel, Direct Admin, InterWorx, Plesk, H-Sphere
    The only Auto Installer that installs 260+ scripts. Install in just ONE STEP!
    Virtualizor - VPS Control Panel supporting OpenVZ, Xen, KVM and has 60+ OS Templates
    Webuzo - Softaculous for the Cloud i.e. Softaculous Standalone

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Dallas, TX
    Quote Originally Posted by cpservr View Post
    worth if you're using the server for (example) game server or video/tube. just take a look add graphics specifications.

    Can you explain to me how a server with graphics processing power will benefit the serving of video files? Maybe I'm missing something here, but AFAIK the graphics capabilities of the sandybridge will almost never be put to use in a server environment (unless of course video conversion programs like ffmpeg are using these abilities, are they? Last I checked ffmpeg had no support for graphics processors).
    Dallas Colocation by Incero
    e: sales(at)incero(dot)com 855.217.COLO (2656)
    Colocation & Enterprise Servers, SATA/SAS/SSD, secure IPMI/KVM remote control, 100% U.S.A. Based Staff
    SSAE 16, SAS70, Redundant Power & Network, Fully Diverse Fiber

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-07-2010, 02:48 PM
  2. Anyone with a PowerEdge 2600?
    By Eiolon in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-20-2005, 07:54 PM
  3. Athlon MP 2600
    By JLevine in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2005, 11:07 PM
  4. AMD MP 2600 or P4 2.8 (HT)
    By WCHost in forum Colocation and Data Centers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-07-2004, 10:33 AM
  5. XP 2600 vs. P4 3GHz
    By izmir in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 10-07-2004, 12:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts